Starbucks Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Starbucks
Dark Roast Coffee or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Starbucks® Sumatra

Starbucks® Sumatra

Full-bodied with a smooth mouthfeel and lingering herbal flavors. Amazing with savory foods.
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(157 reviews) 157
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 157 reviews
5 Stars
132
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
147 out of 15396%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starbucks® Sumatra
Review 1 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love the bold taste

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
snelly720
From: chicago
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A thermos of Starbucks VIA® Ready Brew
I purchased this coffee from jewel and fell in love with the dark bold taste . plan on purchasing again
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My only choise of coffee

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Normandie14
From: Coronado, CA, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A thermos of Starbucks VIA® Ready Brew
The only way to go when you are buying in bulk. The coffee was perfectly packed and each pound was sealed tightly. At your stores it is hard to get the baristros to package each unit securely. With this large order we are taking it to our six months home in Normandie, France, as they have no Starbucks in that area. Thank you very much for your prompt service!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this coffee is the best

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Marty1212
From: Salyersville, KY 41465, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I've tired several different coffee in my years as a coffee drinker. I love black coffee for the fact of actually tasting the coffee this hands down taste absolutely the best, I was amazed at the flavor ..... Thanks Starbucks for the awesome coffee you provide.....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Starbucks Sumatra

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Skeeter73
From: Pond Creek, OK 73766, USA
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
This is my one of my favorite Starbucks coffee's. I had trouble the flavor I like in the grocery store so decided to order on line more as convenience than anything.
Great coffee!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

coffee

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Customer avatar
sammi
From: wisconsin
Love the dark roast..Great taste..Great flavor..anytime of the day
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sumatra Whole Bean

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Customer avatar
GEGJr
From: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Coffee is a bit too smoky for my taste. I buy dark blends because I typically drink Americanos with a touch of sweetener. However I do also make French press as well as pour-over. I tried this coffee with all three methods.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE Best dark roast around

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
TexasWeedman
From: Converse, TX, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This is my all time favorite dark roast anywhere and is my "go to" coffee. I always drink coffee in the morning and it is almost always Starbucks Sumatra.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good coffee.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Gustov
From: Munford, TN, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Great tasting coffee. Been drinking it for about 5 years, and am disappointed when I visit the web site and they are sold out of the brand.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very distinct. Bold but not heavy. My favorite!

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Customer avatar
gypsy5
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
This is the blend for when I have time to sit and really enjoy the smell and taste. I use other blends for morning or regular use, but I always keep this on hand. The flavor is dark and bold, but not as "heavy" as the other dark blends. It is not bitter. It really does leave light lingering herbal flavors as the description states. This is my favorite blend from Starbucks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Daily Coffee

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Customer avatar
theMacKae
From: Sandy, OR, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
It is just not morning without a fresh ground American drip cup of Starbuck's Sumatra coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

a little disappointed

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
George454
From: West Bloomfield Township, MI, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I have been using Sumatra for many years, and I went back to ordering online after inventory levels started to decline in the local stores.
This product is over-roasted and does not seem as fresh/aromatic as it was in the past. The beans are dry, with no oil on the surface. As if it were old stock. Sumatra used to be my favorite Starbucks offering, hands down. I'm not giving up yet, but I have had better Sumatra than this last shipment!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tasting

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
TexasSue
From: Texas
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
This coffee is even better than you can buy in the store. Whole beans are much darker and smoother. I'm hooked.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Strong and very earthy

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Customer avatar
Reign
From: Maryville
Gender:female
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I loved the Komodo Dragon, so my next move could only be Sumatra. Sumatra is much more earthy than the Komodo, which may be an acquired taste for some people. If you prefer crisper, lighter flavors, you may not care for Sumatra. But for those who like a bold brew with a bit more body, Sumatra's a good place to start. I'd especially recommend it if you enjoyed Komodo Dragon or this year's Anniversary Blend, as they share many of the same elements and boldness.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

bold and delicious

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Customer avatar
cjean
From: Dixon, IL 61021, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
This is one our favorite varieties of coffee from Starbucks. It brews up great every time. We grind our own beans and make it as strong as we like. It is strong without being bitter.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EXCELLENT PRE GROUND COFFEE

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
coffeex62years
From: NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
I HAVE BEEN A COFFEE DRINKER SINCE I WAS 10 YEARS OLD, THAT GIVES ME 62 YEARS EXPERIENCE AT THIS. I USUALLY BUY MY GROUND COFFEE AT ANOTHER COFFEE HOUSE, HOWEVER WHEN IN STARBUCKS, I WAS GIVEN A FREE CUP OF SUMATRA ONE DAY WHEN I STOPPED IN FOR SOME PUMPKIN BREAD, AND I STOPPED AFTER ONE TASTE AND WENT BACK AND BOUGHT A POUND OF THE GRIND I USE. IT IS JUST THE BEST SUMATRA YOU CAN GET. AND BY THE WAY, STARBUCKS' BAKED GOODIES ARE EXCELLENT AND THE REASON I AM ALWAYS IN THE SHOP. RIGHT NOW I CANNOT STAY AWAY FROM THEIR PUMPKIN BREAD AND HAVE A NUMBER OF FRIENDS GOING THERE FOR THE SAME, AND BUYING COFFEE THERE, ALSO, ON MY RECCOMENDATION. HOPE THIS SWAYS SOMEONE TO TRY AND BUY THE SUMATRA. IF YOU LIKE COFFEE, YOU WILL LOVE THIS ONE. CHEERS. DRINK COFFEE.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MOST delicious coffee

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Rolltide77
From: Valley Grande, AL, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I like most Starbucks coffee, but Sumatra is my favorite. It must be others also,Tide because I cannot find whole beans anywhere. That is why I get it only on line. The order comes so fast. I am super pleased!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent coffee!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
This is a great full-bodied, dark coffee with tons of flavor and no bitterness!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best Starbucks has to offer.

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
EarlTyndalled
From: North Carolina
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I only wish this was brewed daily at the store. A rich, dark flavor that is second to none.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Different Packaging

PostedDecember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
Kath54
From: Littleton, CO, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I thought I was getting the Sumatra in the brown packaging & what I received was the normal white Starbucks bag. It's Sumatra but the advertisement was misleading.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starbucks® Sumatra
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sumatra is the best!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
coffeeallday
From: Florida, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Have tried many coffee blends for many years but none compare to Sumatra. Also, the best in decaf for a late night beverage with something sweet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>