Starbucks Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black

Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black

Make all your favorite Starbucks® beverages at the touch of a button, one cup at a time, with the new Verismo™ 580 Brewer. Every machine ships with a box of our Caffè Latte Pods and includes free ground shipping.
Overall rating:
3.771 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(538 reviews) 538
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 538 reviews
5 Stars
238
4 Stars
126
3 Stars
56
2 Stars
49
1 Star
69
383 out of 51375%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Review 1 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
This review is fromVerismo™ 580 Brewer Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lattes at Home

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
sptaz33
From: Chicago, IL
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
I love Starbucks and I love this machine. Two pushes of buttons and I have my own latte - which tastes just like the ones at Starbucks. And if you want to get fancy, you can purchase the syrups and caramels and make any of their signature drinks. Best purchase ever.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+232points
388of 544voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Customer avatar
chrisgt44
From: Louisville, KY, USA
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
The Verismo is my 3rd single cup brewer and an addition to my Starbucks semi-automatic espresso machine purchased in 2002. It arrived well packed and took me less than 5 minutes to be up and brewing. I was a little concerned about what the milk pods would taste like so I was anxious to try the cafe latte sample pack that came with it. I was more than pleasantly surprised. The milk pods were great. The espresso brewed well. I must say that the brewing temperature is a little low though for brewing a proper shot of espresso, however brewing it into a shot glass you can see the different layers that comprise a good shot of espresso, with a good layer of crema on the top. That is surprising giving the lower brew temp and the fact that it's only a 19 bar machine. Overall I am very satisfied and it exceeded my expectations. The price to brew a double shot latte comes in just under what you would pay for the same thing in a store. That makes it the most expensive single cup brewer to use on the market, but the quality is well worth it and keeps me from having to get into the mess of my semi-automatic machine. The price of the pods, and the lower brew temp are the only reasons this machine didn't get a 5 star rating from me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+484points
552of 620voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedApril 20, 2014
Customer avatar
EddieG
From: Jacksonville, FL, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I have to confess that I was a little skeptical about this product at first, me and wife agreed on purchasing Verismo in order to make a quick cup of coffee during our "got to get to work now morning rush", we can be happier!, this machine delivers a hot expresso cup of coffee in no time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
This review is fromVerismo™ 580 Brewer Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Vermiso!!

PostedApril 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Ray65
From: Nashville, TN, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
A great little machine. I have one at home and the office. You can get a True Starbucks product at home with the pods, syrups, and frother!! Make you own, it is easy and taste the same as going to the Retail store.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tasting espresso

PostedApril 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Bealz
From: East Hampton, CT, USA
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like the machine. It makes a good cup of espresso and coffee. My only complaint is that I wish it was a little bit hotter. There is no temp control.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coffee every morning

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Peggy724
From: Waikiki
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What will be better than Now I can enjoy a great Latte under $1 per day.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Quick brew and easy to use

PostedApril 17, 2014
Customer avatar
kidshaleen
From: Modesto, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had trouble at first with the water drawing into the machine but then it fired up. It is a bit noisy but I think most espresso machines can be. Not bad for the price and I am looking forward to trying the other recipes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
This review is fromVerismo™ 580 Brewer Burgundy.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Forget the others, Verismo 580 is better!

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
LatteLady10
From: Minnesota
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I received the 580 as a birthday gift and have fallen in love with it! Within 10 minutes I was brewing lattes.
Pros:
*Bin for catching used cups
*Built in cleaning settings
*Compact size
*Affordable price
*Easy to use
*Unlimited drink combinations
Cons:
*Cups pricey (still cheaper than buying a latte in the store!)
*Must rinse upon turning machine on (not really a con but is annoying if you forget you have to do this)
It was difficult to come up with Cons for this machine! I will never buy another one cup brewer again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
This review is fromVerismo™ 580 Brewer Burgundy.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good temperature, rinse cycle is a bit confusing.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
DaveL
From: Los Angeles, CA
Gender:male
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Strawberries & Crème Frappuccino® Blended Beverage
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
First off, I bought this for my office. So my coworkers aren't all going to read the manual. It would be nice if it automatically rinsed and ejected the pod when the machine is about to turn off, so it doesn't do it each time when the machine turns on.
The temperature of the water it brews is nice. It got very hot and steamy, what I like to see for espresso.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Glad I purchased!!!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Customer avatar
blessedmom3
From: Athens, GA, USA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have to admit that I was a little wary of purchasing the Verisimo system and the additional items, including the espresso pods. Mainly in fear that after spending the money, I would not receive the same high quality and delicious lattes that I receive from my local Starbucks. BUT...I am absolutely 100%, MORE than impressed that I can now have the same delicious coffee beverages at home too!!!
The machine itself is super easy to set up and use right away. It is a little noisy when brewing and vibrates (so hold onto your cup. But that aside, no complaints whatsoever.
Now I may just have to get adventurous and try a bunch of new drinks!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best coffee ever

PostedApril 14, 2014
Customer avatar
CoffeeForever
From: Topanga, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had many espresso machines and many coffeemakers and I love this one best. It is HOT enough to get the best out of coffee, and SO easy to use, and FAST. I bought a second one for my office.
The only complaint I have so far is that the milk pods taste yucky. I think you need 0% milk pods.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
This review is fromVerismo™ 580 Brewer Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedApril 13, 2014
Customer avatar
GrannyGoose
From: Columbus ohio
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
We love this machine. Makes great coffee. Just had some company for the weekend and they are going to buy one too. Thanks, Starbucks. We are tossing out the old coffee pot. We like our coffee a little weaker so we run the hot water and dilute it a bit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
This review is fromVerismo™ 580 Brewer Silver.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great coffee, sleek appearance

PostedApril 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Spinner
From: Decatur
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
It makes a great Starbucks coffee and takes up less space on the counter than some other machines. It is sleek in design and fairly easy to use. My only suggestion is to experiment with trying a stronger coffee pod and brewing it several times in a row, as a single brew yeilds a cup of coffee smaller than a Starbucks shop "tall" and to use 2 or 3 pods to get a nice size cup is expensive. I use decaf Pike's Place and run the pod twice before opening the lever for it to deposit into the waste receptacle. Also, use distilled water for top taste and to prevent lime build-up, which is easy enough to do; to avoid wasting water from the appropriately smaller reservoir, I do the "espresso button rinse" that the machine requires before every brew with the pod in place as one of my multiple-brews-per-pod and only do a true water rinse every 5-10 brews. Customer service was excellent.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
This review is fromVerismo™ 580 Brewer Silver.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Customer avatar
scress23
From: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
I bought a machine about a year ago and really regretted it almost as soon as I bought it. I didn't have a problem with the machine or even with any of the products. The main thing I didn't like was the coffee pods and getting them. In the stores I had a hard time finding them and there wasn't much to choose from. They were also not available in all the stores. The only things I could find was coffee, late, espresso or (chai late which would always leak). It would have been nice if they could have come out with other things like mocha or hot chocolate. I finally broke down and bought a keurig coffee machine. I like that there is an adapter I can use so I can use my own coffee. I also like that I can buy Starbucks coffee pods and there always seems to be a lot of coffee and teas and other things from different companies. Does anyone want a free coffee machine well used but still works well.
+6points
15of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So pleased I bought it!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Customer avatar
SweetJitters
From: Seattle
Gender:female
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's so quick! I decided right away that I didn't really like the milk pods, but that was quickly remedied with the use of a microwave safe frothing mug and an electric frother.
The first thing I do is turn on the machine. Then I go to the fridge and pour milk into my microwave safe frothing mug.
When I get back to the machine, all the buttons are illuminated so I do a rinse cycle into my drink cup.
I stick the mug in the microwave and heat up the milk (60-90 seconds).
I then throw away the rinse water that cycled through the machine, stick the drink cup back under the nozzle, toss in an espresso pod, and push the espresso brew button.
Yes, it makes noise, but it's a lot quieter than a traditional espresso maker and it lasts like, 10 seconds.
I like it strong so I open the lever (which drops the spent pod into a removable compartment), add another pod, and brew a second shot.
I open the lever again so that the used pod drops and I'm done with the machine.
By this time, my milk is heated through and I grab my electric frother and spend 15-20 seconds frothing my milk which I then pour over my espresso.
On most days this takes 2 minutes sometimes it take 2 1/2 minutes when I have to fill the water reservoir or I want to sweeten my beverage.
It is the very last thing I do before I head out the door for work and I can enjoy my hot, delicious latte during my commute. When I was trying to decide if I wanted a Verismo, I watched a couple of demo videos on YouTube. Seeing how easy it was to use and the great price convinced me to buy it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
This review is fromVerismo™ 580 Brewer Burgundy.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Varismo 580 Brewer

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Manny63
From: Tampa, FL, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This brewer is a great improvement from the previous version. It brews excellent espresso all the time with very little effort or mess. Its also very easy to clean and maintain.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
This review is fromVerismo™ 580 Brewer Silver.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent quality beverages

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
PeteMcG62
From: Tucson, AZ, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A thermos of Starbucks VIA® Ready Brew
This machine is excellent and rivals the coffee you would get at a Starbucks store. The only complaint is the speed at which it makes a regular cup of coffee - takes up to a minute and a half to two minutes. I contacted the service number and they sent a replacement right away (excellent service response) but the new one is just as slow.
I inquired at the time I called as to what the normal time for making a cup should be as it is not stated anywhere in the advertising. I never was able to get an answer. Given this is the 2nd machine and it works identical to the first I have to assume that the time experienced is normal.
I would still recommend this machine - the coffee and ability to make espresso is well worth the wait.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very upset customer

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Customer avatar
Ashley52
From: Roseville, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have had to return to coffee pots. When the replacement came it did not work properly either. So I still do not gave a working coffee machine
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Product

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
PeppieMochsLover
From: North St. Paul, MN, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I don't normally do reviews, but this is a product I really love. I was a once a day regular at the Starbucks drive thru. I love my Peppermint White Mocha Latte! After getting laid off - the luxury of my daily treat wasn't in the budget. We opted to invest in the machine and the savings was virtually instant. We paid for the machine in a little over month. I get consistent results and quality espresso every time. I would definitely recommend it. You can even still use your Starbucks gold card for your pod and syrup purchases!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Verismo™ 580 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thanks Starbucks

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
DallasCowgirl2
From: Los Angeles
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The verismo brewer makes a little bit too much noise. Otherwise, I love it. Can't get enough coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>