Starbucks Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Starbucks
Portion Packs or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Espresso Roast Pods

Espresso Roast Pods

The heart of our espresso beverages. A full-bodied blend with a rich aroma and a hint of caramel.
Overall rating:
4.604 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(207 reviews) 207
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 207 reviews
5 Stars
166
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
5
1 Star
8
193 out of 20495%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Espresso Roast Pods
Review 1 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for the office…please come back

PostedApril 3, 2014
Customer avatar
mgambomax
From: the Islands
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I bought a Saeco Aroma espresso machine to use at the office. The pods were so convenient. Switched to decaf later in the day. So sad Starbucks espresso roast is no longer available in ESE pods
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please bring the Pods back!!!

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Marella
From: Greensboro, PA, USA
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
I have your coffee pot and espresso Barista. I buy your K-cups and regular coffee and pods. However, since my last stock up I only have one box of pods left and found out you can no longer buy them at Starbucks. Yes us consumers can buy the pods from another maker but THEY ARE NOT STARBUCKS :*(
I did spend 500.00 on the Stainless Steel Machine and almost 200 on a Starbucks Barista Coffee pot so why not supply the pods? Or at least recommend a company that can supply the same quality and price!
Highly disappointed since the espresso machine will be almost valueless now.
Sincerely,
Heart Broken and Disappointed
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really miss these pods!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Espressopodfan
From: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Made a delicious espresso!
So disappointed that Starbucks discontinued this product!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BRING THEM BACK!!!

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Customer avatar
maryjot
From: Cambridge, MA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I came here to reorder espresso pods... only to find that you'd discontinued them. Since I use them for my expensive espresso maker, I absolutely refuse to buy in to the Verismo system. You just lost my business... I'll have to look for another coffee pod manufacturer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Make them available again

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Banyan
From: Trinidad & Tobago
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I have been using these pods for about ten years and gone through two or three machines with them. I usually order a quantity and my stock is running out.
Is this lack of availability to pressure us addicts into buying Verismo at almost many times the price per pod?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Crying in my espresso cup! Miss my pods!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
MichelleLatteLover
I love these pods, not looking forward to the messy job of making my lattes without them! PLEASE BRING THEM BACK!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Excellent product

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
CohoQueen
From: Mossyrock, WA 98564, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
The Starbucks ESE (easy serve espresso) pods are a wonderful product. Easy to use, no mess or wet grounds to clean up and always produce an excellent shot in our Saeco Sirena machine. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE bring them back. There is NO equivalent product on the market. We live in a very rural area and the nearest Starbucks is 30 miles away, making it impossible to enjoy fresh, good quality espresso on a daily basis without making it at home. When our pod stash is depleted we will be forced to use a brand X pod or *horrors* go back to brewed coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please bring these back

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Customer avatar
RIchardL
From: Redondo Beach,
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
These were the BEST pods for my ESE machine. Please bring them back. Pretty Please? Pretty Please with a cherry on top?
Since these were discontinued I've been trying several other brands and still miss my Starbucks Espresso.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where, oh Where have the expresso pods gone???

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
gammyg
From: Reno, NV, USA
Gender:female
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Please come back , expresso pods!!!!
Please don't make me go looking for new little pods.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring back these pods

PostedJune 5, 2013
Customer avatar
UnhappyDC
From: Washington, DC, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
These pods were awesome. Unbelieveable that you discontinued such a great item. Your pod rating is excellent, your company rating is now poor for me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

VERY Disappointed

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Edger
From: Seattle, WA, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Having been a partner on and off for eight years I was shocked to hear this product was discontinued. The Barista espresso machine was one of the best products ever produced by Starbucks and the pods made it elegant, tidy and made some of the very best home espresso I've ever had. I've had numerous friends with much more expensive espresso machines comment the same way. The Espresso Pods are the key to that. I'm disappointed, frustrated and now have to go somewhere else to purchase coffee when I would rather spend my money at Starbucks.
Please bring back the Pods and keep this long time Starbucks Partner and Customer from having to take his business elsewhere. Partner (1994 - 2002)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love the Espresso Pod!! Extremely Disappointed that you discontinued!!!!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Customer avatar
RC59
From: Texas, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I love the pods. I use them at home and at my rural vacation home. There is not a Starbucks within 75 miles. Now what am I supposed to drink in the morning???
I hate the new machines and cups
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where did the pods go?

PostedMay 20, 2013
Customer avatar
mccatlady
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I'm so frustrated that I can no longer get ESE pods from Starbucks. I've owned 2 Starbucks espresso machines over the past 17 years and I've always used the pods, regular, decaf, and the occasional special edition ones like Caffe Verona. I have no intention of replacing my machine for a Verissmo or a Keurig, both inferior products that do not produce the same quality espresso. I would rather continue purchasing pods with Starbucks, but will be looking elsewhere instead.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fabulous product

PostedMay 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Elizabeth1966
From: Pittsfield, MA, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I am crushed that I can no longer buy this product as it was amazing. Had I known that it would fall out of favor to those ridiculously wasteful "K cups," I would have had hoarded them. I love Starbucks coffee... make it at home every day... but I'm now forced to look elsewhere for E.S.E. espresso pods as I will not be replacing my Breville espresso maker with a Keurig or Verismo system. Please, please, PLEASE reconsider offering this product once more!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WHY IN GODS NAME DID YOU DISCONTINUE THIS?!?!

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
ala5656
From: Rochester
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I cannot believe that the ESE Pods have been discontinued in favor of a system that doesn't have the same quality and creates more waste than anything.
the ESE pods produced quality espresso with great flavor and after i was done with the pods i could toss them in my compost because they were completely biodegradable.
This is really disappointing from a customer that has in the past really valued the quality and service of Starbucks. To suddenly discontinue a product just to try and "force" it's customer base to use a newer system is despicable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the coffee and the products

PostedApril 25, 2013
Customer avatar
MGHOLLY1
From: Glen Cove, NY, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
The pods are great as is the original expresso machine sold by Starbucks. I have two - one in each house. One is twelve years old. Why cannot I get pods? I want to be able to steam the milk, as is done with any expresso machine. The new machines have not improved your image.
Please make the pods available!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ugh! Heartbroken!

PostedApril 24, 2013
Customer avatar
JJTexas
From: Tyler, TX, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Please bring back the pods!!!!!!!!! I can't have my coffee at home anymore.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please Bring Back Espresso Roast Pods

PostedApril 9, 2013
Customer avatar
PeggySue
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I have had a Starbucks Barista espresso/cappuccino maker for about 20 years now and have used your pods for about that long, making a doppio espresso con panna at home each morning and afternoon. I was so sad and disappointed to find out that my favorite espresso roast pods were being discontinued in favor of the Verismo system (I've tried the samples, but they just don't compare). I have sampled and ordered espresso pods from Italy but, surprisingly, they are not as strong or as tasty as your pods. I've just submitted an order for some other pods again, reluctantly, and am hoping that if enough long-time customers reach out to you, you might reconsider bringing back your espresso roast pods. It would definitely make my year!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Discontinued?!? BRING THEM BACK!!!

PostedApril 4, 2013
Customer avatar
ImRaezin
From: San Diego, CA, USA
As a former partner and loyal Starbucks customer for over 15 years, I'm EXTREMELY disappointed to find that you have discontinued these espresso pods. I have an old school Barista machine that I purchased in 2000 and still use very regularly. It is the only machine that can create the quality of drink that I expect from the Starbucks name (and yes I'm including the new Verismo- yuk). Your espresso pods are the only pods I've tried that can pull the high quality espresso shot that I'm accustomed to from working at and being an habitual customer of Starbucks.
I'm almost out of the stock pile of pods that I purchased when my local store told me they'd no longer be carrying them in the brick and mortar stores in an effort to push the Verismo system. I understand the desire to grow as a company and get your customers hooked on a new system, but as your bold coffees alienated the weak coffee drinker, your Verismo system alienates cappuccino drinkers like myself or anyone who wants nonfat or organic milk, also like myself. You created the Blonde Roast to appeal to the lost customers who didn't have the taste for the strong coffee your stores brew, but I fear you've now lost quite a few customers by discontinuing the espresso pods. I may be one of them.
Please reconsider your decision to discontinue this product and BRING BACK THE PODS!!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Espresso Roast Pods
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Please, please bring these back!!!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Customer avatar
LisainOC
From: Orange County, CA
Gender:female
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
I have used these since 2008 and really love this product. It is really a shame that there was no notice given and now the only pods sold fit a specific mac hine that is sold by Starbucks. I purchased my espresso machine from Starbucks in 2008 and now have to use another vendor for the pods.
You have disappointed a very long time customer!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>