Starbucks Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup

Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup

A double-walled, stainless steel coffee press that brews up to 34 fl oz of coffee and keeps it hot for up to 2 hours.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
28 out of 3288%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Review 1 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Customer avatar
Deborah456
From: Toronto, ON, Canada
Gender:female
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I can pour coffee in the morning and when I get back home 10 hours later the coffee is still warm. It's made on stainless steel which is the reason I bought it as the glass tends to break easy. I just wish the press/lid part was stainless steel also. It is made of plastic. But still a great product even if a little overpriced.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Columbia thermal press

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
seahorses4
From: Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The post that screws into the filter is stripped causing the filter to detach it leaving behind near the bottom of the carafe. I am very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Will this product last? Is it durable?

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
MarkD
From: Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Even though the pot itself is made of stainless steel, the lid is a weak link with a lot of plastic . . . too much. I will be surprised if part of lid doesn't break down in a few years. So while the pot itself is solid, makes good coffee and keeps it warm, the product overall conveys a level of "cheapness" with the lack of solidity in the lid. I would not buy this again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Far better than a glass french press.

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Itsallgood
From: Incline Village, NV 89451, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We like this pot a lot. It's a little pricey and a little smaller than we expected - it really makes only six cups - three average-sized mugs - of coffee. But the coffee is great and it does stay warm for quite a while - especially if you tuck it into a cozy right away.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor thermal press

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
MelissaM
From: Olathe
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am very disappointed with my thermal press. It doesn't keep the coffee hot much longer than my glass press. Especially for the price. I have tried pre-heating it which helps a little but this is just an extremely over-priced item!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love love love it!

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Ninabeehappy
From: Southampton, NY, USA
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Bodum is so simple to use. The coffee has tasted excellent each time (I followed the ratio provided in the instructions). Plus it really did stay hot for several hours which is a huge improvement over my glass Bodum.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful french press makes a tasty cup o' joe!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Customer avatar
sheltie88
From: Portland, OR, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Bodum stainless steel french coffee press makes delicious and hearty coffee! The thermal feature keeps coffee warm if you don't drink it all right away. It also has the added benefit of being unbreakable, unlike a glass carafe. The plunger works smoothly and easily (in contrast to some other reviews). The handle feels comfortable, and the overall weight makes it seems like a quality piece. It's nice enough to leave sitting out on the counter, though I do wish that the brushed stainless steel model were still offered. Overall, it's a great addition to one's home-brew coffee options!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Keep the coffee warm for a longer period

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Selene218
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This press is excellent, and does keep the coffee I make warm for a longer time period. The only one con is that there is no mark for me to see how much water I should add .
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Next Generation Coffee Press

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
LoveThatCoffee
From: Terrace, BC
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sturdy. Insulated. Well-designed. Aesthetically pleasing. Well worth the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Elegant

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Tulsacoffee
From: Tulsa, OK, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buy one ASAP, you won't regret it.
It will be the very best coffee press you will ever buy.
It will really look cook on your kitchen nook.
Very easy to clean.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not the easiest to press. . .BUT. . .

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Press1
From: San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I have the previous model of this press (brushed stainless) and continue to use it despite not being able to replace the broken top AND the screen/filter (not happy with Starbucks for not having replacement parts). Reason I continue to use it rather than buying this new model is that both my daughter and son have the new model and BOTH of them have to exert a tremendous amount of pressure to succesfully press the coffee! They both have had the presses since they were first introduced so it's not a matter of "breaking in." Still love the pot but am sticking with the old and dealing with the broken parts! If you don't have the old stainless pot, buy this one over any other!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Customer avatar
AM1969
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been using a French press for years, and my previous one was too small for my husband's and my consumption, nevermind if we had people over. This one is big, and seems to be made well. I don't have to worry about breaking a glass insert, which is great. It makes fantastic coffee, and my husband and I could not be happier. Glad I chose this model.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love, love, love my Thermal Press!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer avatar
arosas
From: central Florida
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's a Work of Art! Makes a perfect cup!
Best cup I've ever made!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautifully strong Coffee Pot

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Customer avatar
French
From: San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This coffee press makes delicious coffee and keeps it hot for a long time. Makes enough for 2 people to have a couple of cups. It is the best quality cup of coffee I have ever had.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps coffee warm

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Customer avatar
J29Girl
From: Connecticut, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A thermos of Starbucks VIA® Ready Brew
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thought it was pricey but completely worth it! Bought this for when I sleep over on the boat. It is usually chilly in the morning but with this thermal coffee press I only have to boil water once to make the coffee and it is still warm 2 hours later. After you pour your cup, the lid twists around to close from the spout so steam/heat doesn't get lost. Built-in thermos is not glass so I don't have to worry about breakage. Easy to store and is a sturdy design. Would also highly recommend this for camping.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice piece

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Theo
From: NH
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I wanted a stainless steel press, the glass ones seem to break too easy.This one is not only good looking but made very well also.
I could not see the advantage of having a thermal French press to keep coffee warm due to the fact that as soon as you press your coffee, you are supposed to get it out of the press before it turns bitter. But I do like that it is thermal because I do preheat the press and it does seem to hold the heat better than a glass press.
Makes great coffee, easy to use, and I think it will last a long time.
1 minor thing would be;
Having the amount of water marked in ounces on the inside of the press would be great, sometimes I only make half of this 34 ounce press and don't know how much water I'm actually adding unless I pour into a measuring cup first and then pour it into the press, which does cool water down. The glass ones don't seem to have any measurement marks on them either. Why??
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Keeps the coffee hot!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
red7
From: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
My husband and I are getting our money's worth on this coffee press. Every morning my husband grinds whole coffee beans and makes our coffee. Nothing like a fresh cup of hot coffee to wake us up! This coffee press keeps our coffee hotter than our last coffee press made of glass.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fabulous Treat Everyday

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
DebbieSMILING
From: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After dining at an exclusive restaurant that served the BEST coffee I've ever enjoyed, from a French Press, I asked the server about French Presses. He said the glass one's were great, but broke easily. I bought a glass one on sale, loved it, broke in within 2 weeks. My family bought me this stainless steel model and I am THRILLED. The fact that it makes 8 cups and is "thermal" for 2 hours is a bonus. One of the best gifts of my life!. I will strongly encourage others to purchase this unit and sell their electric coffee pot in a garage sale!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Slice of home

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
MGV35
From: Afghanistan
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am currently in Afghanistan and desperately missing Starbucks. My wife sent me the thermal coffee press along with some coffee for Christmas. WOW...this press makes some great coffee and it remains hot for a long time. I will continue to use it, even when I return home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Columbia Thermal Coffee Press by Bodum® 8 cup
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coffee

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Miko2523
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice quality press and easy to use.....The coffee taste excellent.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 next>>