Starbucks Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Starbucks
Tumblers & Travel Mugs or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz

Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz

A tumbler with an insulating stainless steel exterior and a ceramic inner lining.
Overall rating:
2.812 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
7 out of 1547%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Sweettheart
From: Cleveland
Gender:female
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
I love the feel of my all-ceramic mug, but it's been broken twice. This is an awesome solution, and I love the look. Perfect. Just use a stainless steel cleaner once in a while (like you would for anything else made out of stainless steel...).
I'm a partner.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Ceramic Tumbler

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Customer avatar
letomatoes
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
State of the art ceramic and stainless steel tumbler,
Pro: Nice looking, keep cofee or tea hot, clean.
Cons: Heavy, Lid dont have a lock to mantain close.
Im going to try it in the next copule of weeks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Would like a different lid

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Fpoger
From: Hummelstown
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I feel my coffee does not stay hot and I think it is because the lid is open. I would like to know if there is a replacement lid for this cup.
Thank you
No, I do not recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

EVERY DAY

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Customer avatar
KateS
From: Memphis, TN, USA
Gender:female
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
I love this tumbler so much! I use it every morning. I like it so much I just pulled it up to pin to my "Products I Love" pin board on Pinterest so a link would be easily available incase I ever needed to order one as a gift.
I was shocked to see that some people didn't like it. I then reviewed my experience of finding it and using it the first time and understand why their reviews may be so negative...? I will explain the pros and cons because I feel it is important and a great product.
Pros:
*It has a ceramic lining that feels awesome against my lips!
*The ceramic lining is preferred so that the drink flavor is not altered by a flavor damaging plastic/metal/paper cup
*Its insulation is so strong It lasts for hours.
*The top helps stop any spills if I drive over something in the road.
Cons:
*Its not a screw top container that is waterproof.
*It is breakable.
*It is not dishwasher safe. I clean mine by pouring boiling water in it. Quick and easy.
Conclusion:
Buy this if you want luxuriously smooth ceramic against your lips.
Don't buy this if you want it to be waterproof, it's not.
It's a luxury high end travel tumbler and I USE IT EVERY DAY AND LOVEEEE IT.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

avoid

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
kenlee
From: Virginia, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This is a nice looking mug, though somewhat overly large for carrying around. And it's nice drinking from ceramic.
The problem is that the removable top is far to close to the actual rim of the mug, meaning that once the coffee is below half full, you have to tilt the mug at a precipitous angle in order to actually drink it. As I type this, I have wet coffee down the front of my shirt from my most recent experience with this problem.
Works fine without the top, but not much of a travel mug with no top.
All this exacerbated by the $20 price tag. Outrageously overpriced for the quality of the experience.
It's pretty, but you should avoid it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Spills, Hard to Clean, Stains

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: Boston
This mug looks great at first, but after a few uses it stains. It's hard to clean on the inside because of it's extremely narrow shape, and its hard to keep the stainless steele looking ok. The removable top is flimsy, and the shape doesn't fit in the cup holder quite right, causing coffee spills on my seats and carpeting in my car. I do not recommend this mug.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

spills terribly

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Customer avatar
suki
From: OH
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
Cute but not practical. Very easy to spill on yourself as you drink. So sad!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Idea...Needs Improvement

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Mochachica
From: Dallas, TX, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
Dear Starbucks,
I am patiently waiting for you to reconfigure this mug to have a lid that will permit me to drink without spilling hot coffee everywhere. I would also REALLY APPRECIATE IT, if it were to come in say, a venti/20 oz version so that I can greedily enjoy a decent amount SB coffee...without fretting over whether or not to (GASP) refill at work --with substandard fare--or risk gazing at the insides of my eyelids.
Love,
Hopelessly dreaming of a venti, ceramic travel mug--with a lid...
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ceramic mug

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer avatar
tootsie
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
very well made coffee cup it's heavy but not too heavy
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not well insulated, clumsy.

PostedApril 24, 2012
Customer avatar
ABQStarbucksFan
From: Albuquerque, NM
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Outside aluminium gets hot with beverage indicating it is not well insulated. If you attempt to pour contents into another container, it doe not pour in a steady stream and drips. Awkward to handle.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice travel coffee cup

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
cablizz
From: Minnetonka, MN, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
I like the fact that this cup has an inner lining of ceramic material, lined by an outer layer of stainless. Great travel mug, keeps the beverage hot. The opening with which to sip the drink works well, get your mouth around the opening before tipping the cup!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tumbler - not so great lid

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Customer avatar
Gruntly
From: SoCal
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I went looking for a ceramic travel mug, so I could keep my coffee HOT, but didn't taste like steel or plastic.
Was very excited to find this one - because it was exactly what I was looking for. I love the tumbler and will continue to use it pretty much every day.
The big problem though is the lid. Its plastic, which I can deal with - BUT for some unexplained reason, they made the opening to the lid way TOO WIDE, and its difficult to drink out of it without spilling or burning yourself.
STARBUCKS - can you make this same tumbler with a lid just like the paper cups you get in the store? Those work great
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

beautiful tumbler with great insulation

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
dacimvrl
From: FL
Gender:male
it's what it is, a sophisticated tumbler with beautiful detailing and superb construction. The only gripe I have is that I didn't realize that the lid does NOT seal all the way, meaning I have to hold it by hand all the time.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Needs a better lid

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Customer avatar
iLoveBaseball
From: Tampa, FL
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Strawberries & Crème Frappuccino® Blended Beverage
I bought this item for my wife, who loves the 12 oz ceramic tumbler but didn't like the size of it as it was too small for her. My wife loves the look and feel of this tumbler. She says coffee tastes better when it is drunk out of ceramic than plastic or metal, but she just doesn't like the lid design on this tumbler. The lid pops off way to easy, and cannot be closed. A better lid design would make this tumbler a fantastic item that would be highly recommended. Hopefully Starbucks will come out with a new lid to replace the one that comes with this tumbler that can just be purchased seperately.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

beautiful but not useful

PostedFebruary 5, 2012
Customer avatar
lilia
From: springfield
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
the lid is just so disappointed , bad design really sad about this .
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ceramic and Stainless Steel Tumbler, 16 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design qualities

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Chrislovescoffee
From: Chicagoland
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I am a daily SB's coffee drinker...While this ceramic mug appears to be quite nifty...it actually has design issues. The lip and lid combination actually make it difficult to sip cooffee without spilling just to the left and right of the sip area. You will spill coffee trying to drink out of this mug. Additionally this mug is not vacuum sealed. Consequently the coffee in this mug does not hold tempature much longer than a regular ceramic mug. A vacuum sealed mug will retain temp for several hours and SB currently only offers a few tumblers that are vacuum sealed. Please intro more with vacuum design. This mug gets a return to vendor. Too bad as its nice looking.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.