Starbucks Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Starbucks
Starbucks Reserve® Coffee or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate

Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate

Nurtured in the Blue Mountain mist of Jamaica.
Overall rating:
4.432 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 74 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
60 out of 7283%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Review 1 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Rock
From: Queens, NY, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This and your Kona are my two most favorite coffee's. Not too strong, not too weak. Not too bitter, not too sweet. Almost perfect.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tasting!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Pat39
From: Portland
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
It's worth the once a year splurge!! We love the flavor of this coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

it was okay

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Bravewolf48
From: Berkeley, CA, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I have had Jamaican coffee before and this batch was disappointing to me. Not much fragrance. The coffee was only okay. Not worth the $30 half pound cost.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best of the best

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Dalago
From: San Francisco, CA, USA
Gender:female
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
My favorite coffee is Jamaica Blue Mountain. It's perfect not too strong, subtle acidity , well balanced chocolate finish. Jamaica Blue Mountain and me equal :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply beautiful

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Doodlebelle66
From: Jacksonville, FL, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I have been enjoying this coffee for years. I was at a clover store in St Petersburg, Fl and saw this on the menu board and about cried. I haven't had a cup since my husband passed 5 years ago. I got a Grande Clover and the first sip brought back so many memories. I am thrilled to be able to purchase it from Starbucks. And bought a bag to bring home. I would suggest for this and all the Reserve coffees, try them at a clover store before you buy. And remember that the reserve are smaller batches each year and once gone for that year it's gone and the next year it may be slightly different. This is such a beautiful and unique coffee. One of the best in the world.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice and smooth!

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Coffeeaddict15
From: Walnut CA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I heard a lot about the blue mountain coffee but never tried it. I bought a bag from Starbucks and loved it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
JimofHenderson
From: Henderson, NV, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Doesn't get much better. Wish they carried at our local Starbucks!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not what I expected

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Customer avatar
jenniferr
From: Joshua Tree, CA 92252, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
Good, but not that good, at least not for the asking price.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
4of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Highly Disappointing

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
CoffeeLuver
From: Tampa Bay,
Gender:male
Age:55-65
This is the second "Reserve" coffee I ordered at one time based upon Starbuck's information on their store site. This and the Hawaii Ka'u were, in my opinion, over roasted with only one discernable burned flavor. I was greatly disappointed and returned the beans for a refund after tasting the first cup.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite coffee!

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Ebressani
From: Seattle, Wa
Gender:male
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I have been waiting for this coffee to come out all year!! I am so excited that it's here. This was the first Starbucks Reserve Coffee that I ever tried as a new partner in Seattle.
When you first inhale the satisfying aromas, the thick vapor drifts up into your nose and you notice that it's unlike any coffee you've ever had. I can usually pick out certain aromas in a coffee, but this one is like a masterfully composed perfume. It doesn't smell like one or two specific aromas. Instead, it's a blend of many fragrances that come together to make something incredible. There could be some cocoa and fruity notes in there, but honestly, it doesn't matter. It reminds me of my favorite place in the world, which is Carmel, Ca. When I smell this coffee, it makes me feel like I am on vacation with no worries in the world.
When you try your first sip, you notice how amazingly smooth and rich it is and that there is no noticeable roastiness or smokiness to it. There is a fruity taste that you experience on the front and sides of your tongue right before the smooth milk chocolate consistency takes over your mouth and spreads to your mind, causing your eyes to close in complete bliss. As the coffee continues to slide through your mouth and into your stomach, you forget to take another sip and that there is a whole cup sitting in front of your mouth, waiting to be enjoyed.
Jamaica Blue Mountain Amber Estate demonstrates how romantic a cup of coffee can be!
I would recommend this to anyone who either loves coffee or who has yet to enjoy it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Listen and learn

PostedOctober 20, 2013
Customer avatar
amadele
From: Orlando, FL, USA
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
This coffee is not certified by The Coffee Industry Board of Jamaica to be 100% Jamaica Blue Mountain beans. They come from 2,400 to 5,000 foot elevation "beneath" the Blue Ridge which has an elevation of 7,400 feet. It is legal to label a product Jamaica Blue Mountain with a lesser percentage of beans. Starbucks does not claim this is 100% Blue Mountain beans. It must come from specific other estates on the Blue Ridge and bear the label Certified 100% Blue Mountain beans by Jamaica's Coffee Board. It will also be a much higher price.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this coffee

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Scamy
From: South Carolina
This coffee great! It is smooth and definitely worth it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not a good deal

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Foolish
From: Arizona
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Wanted ground coffee, received whole beans. By the time they are ground we will have a very small amount of very expensive coffee. Not worth that amount of money, will be returning.
-24points
0of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best Reserve product

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer avatar
drbentonquest
From: nj
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
I would drink this coffee everyday if it was available and I could afford it. Simply fantastic. Drink it black and enjoy every sip.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasent Surprise

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer avatar
errn9
From: Warwick, RI
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I have always loved JBM coffee, and usually I have to send away for it or wait until someone or I go there. What a surprise it was to walk in to my local Starbucks and find this coffee. This coffee is exactly what I have come to expect from JBM. It is full-bodied with chocolate and nutty overtones as well as being quite smooth. I prefer this coffee iced because the chocolate flavor is much more prevalent then when served hot.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A smooth rich flavor

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Homey29
From: Morgantown, WV, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
Jamaica Blue Mountain has a smooth rich flavor I would expect from Jamaican coffee. I was in Jamaica in 2004 and fell in love with Blue Mountain Coffee. I don't recomend Sandals Montego Bay (hated it).
This coffee is very much like what was served in Jamaica and the flavor is addicting. I would recomend this coffee even to those who aren't coffee lovers like me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great taste. Can afford once in a Blue Moon!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Customer avatar
bamajim
From: Georgia, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I have had a special Jamaican Blue Mtn. coffee once in the past when a Jamaican friend brought some back after a visit home. That particular coffee seemed a little better but it has been 15 years since and I do not know if from same source of beans?? It is very good though and I am enjoying.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Delicious Expectation

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Comeaux
From: Windward Oahu, Sandwich Islands US
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
I purchased two 8 oz. packages (one wonderful pound of this delicious coffee) because I've heard much acclaim and praise said of Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee. Needless to say, this offering does not even in the slightest way disappoint. The aroma, upon opening the package of whole beans, just demands your attention to inhale that wonderful scent. After grinding and measuring out the proper amount, I got my drip coffee maker going and the rich amber color slowly dripping into the carafe made me impatient to taste it.
The first taste does have a caramelly, nutty, and a subtle smokey flavor to it. It has a very smooth finish and a very nice mouth feel. This coffee has a beautiful color, taste, and aroma. Every characteristic of a coffee I love. I am definitely getting more before its all gone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So good we placed a second order!

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
spike
From: Central Florida
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
We have thoroughly enjoyed the Jamaica Blue Mountain this year. If you have not tried it you should! You won't be sorry.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starbucks Reserve® Jamaica Blue Mountain® Amber Estate
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Customer avatar
JBM1
From: Leesburg,VA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A can of Doubleshot
We compared with Zabar's, which we found was as Blue Mtn flavorful AND less expensive by mail.
We are going with Zabar's but we are Starbucks devotees and will surely buy more of your Blue Mtn again -- particularly if it is in your local store.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 3 4 next>>