Starbucks Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco

Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco

A traditional Italian-made espresso machine with pressurized brewing chamber and Pannarello frother.
Overall rating:
2.667 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
7 out of 1450%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Review 1 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Customer avatar
christinaleo123
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing coffee. Love the machine. My mom and I both have one. Every review i have read about this expresso machine are great.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent machine

PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Customer avatar
ChrisLaval
From: Laval, QC, Canada
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent machine !
Constant good result, nice crema
Solid too !
Playing with the size of the grinding will change the form of the crema and the taste of the coffee. Even with the finest coffee grinding, no grain are passing through.
I don't use the frother, I only put the milk directly from the carton... So I can't give any comments on that.
1 con : a bit expensive. But you are paying for the quality. It's not cheap aluminium or painted plastic :)
The main difference with this model is the pressurized handle. It ensures the perfect pressure, so you don't have to tap the coffee in the handle.
Before buying a mug or glass, check the space available under the handle. It's not high.
I would buy the same one with no hesitation.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

steam wand poorly designed

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
rc1522s
From: West Chester, PA, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
The steam wand is not on a full swivel and you are not able to fit the steaming pitcher under the wand. The only way you can steam a pitcher of milk would be to raise the entire machine up so the steaming pitcher fits. To0 bad, the rest of the machine looks pretty good, just a poor design. I sent it back and am looking for the Starbucks Barista Machine.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Creates a Beautiful Shot

PostedJune 10, 2013
Customer avatar
GiggsFan
From: Edmonton, AB
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I am still getting to know the machine, but one thing I do know, is that it does pour a beautiful shot.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too small

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Customer avatar
montereysteve
From: Monterey, CA, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This product was purchased to replace a Via Venezia.
I would not buy this product again.
What was challenging with the Via Venezia, putting a cup under the portafilter to capture coffee and putting a cup under the steam spout has become very difficult and aggravating with the Aroma.
There is less space (1/2") between the portafilter and the drip tray. There is a lower height(1/2") of the top of the portofilter from the bottom of the machine.
Some people may appreciate this smaller machine, I am not one of them.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor quality - do not purchase this product

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Disappointed2013
From: Virginia
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is my first review on anything that I have purchased on line.
This machine developed a short to ground on the 14th month of use (1 year warranty of course). No authorized service center within 100 miles, and I live in the DC metro area!
The electrical components are very poorly sealed from moisture damage, so if you do purchase then don't spill any liquid on top of the machine (where you pour the water into the reservoir).
The rest of the negative comments about this machine are true as well (very poorly designed)
No, I do not recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Would not prime

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Customer avatar
akavaman
From: Lacey,Wa.
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was without a home espresso machine for two weeks,so I was eagerly awaiting my new machine. I initially was concerned with the weight of the packaged product,shipping weight 17 lbs.,is this thing going to slide all over the counter when I put the porta filter on? Pulling the product out of the box I was immediately disappointed with the poor quality of the drip pan and limited area for a cup. after assembly my next observation was the fact that you would need to have the Machine hanging over the counter top in order to put the frothing pitcher under the foam wand. At this point I was ready to put it back in the box and ship it back when I thought I better see how good an espresso it brews up, but I never got a chance because the machine would not prime itself(pull water out of the water tank) no matter what I tried. In fact the plumbing seemed to have been installed backwards,it was blowing bubbles into the water tank. This was very sad,I always have trusted Starbucks to deliver the best quality to its customers.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Performer

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
clabonte
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have owned this coffee maker now for 6 months and I am ready to toss it out the window. You can not use the wand very well, It does not pull away from the base far enough to get your cup up underneath it without tipping it so low that you start to spill you rmilk. The pump does not work half the time, it just makes noise and there is no draw being produced. I have primed the "silly" thing to the point I shut it off and walk away. It is not plugged up if that is what you are thinking. This simply is a poorly made maker and i hate the fact that I paid good money for the "silly" thing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+15points
19of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Excellent espresso shots

PostedJune 17, 2012
Customer avatar
barista
From: wisconsin
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
We had to replace our broken machine, they no longer make the one we had. We only use the machine for espresso shots for americanos. This machine makes excellents shots. It's a small machine, we have to bring it to the edge of the counter to use the steam wand for water. We always unplugg it when we are done so the button on the side is no big deal. Overall for what we neede the machine is great
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Espresso Coffee & Foam

PostedFebruary 12, 2012
Customer avatar
32ciera
From: seattle
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of use 
1 / 5
1 / 5
This is not a quality espresso machine for the money spent. We have had several machnes over the years and this model has forced us to return to our coffee pot! The cups needed to be used are very small and a normal cup will not work. Having been to Europe and the British Isles many times, drinking espresso from a normal sized coffee cup this model just doesn't work. the foam wan is difficult to manivor and doesn't work well.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
10of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

first machine

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Customer avatar
CoffeeJunky
From: California, USA
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was a little noisier than I expected, but being my first machine, I don't have anything to compare it to. It makes a nice shot of espresso with a nice Guinness and creme. Great machine for it's price and doesn't take up any more counter space than my coffee machine did.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Makes good espresso and foam but has design flaws

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Customer avatar
ray5324
From: Seattle
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I expected that this machine would be a refinement of the Barista, a similar espresso machine which had been sold by Starbucks . In many respects this machine is an improvement. It makes a good cup and superior foam. Access to the water container is very much improved.
However, there are several design flaws which resulted in my lower rating: 1) the motion of the steamer tube is very restricted, 2) there is insufficient clearance between the coffee holder and the tray, and 3) the dimensions of the tray make it difficult to use large cups to receive espresso.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A bit cumbersome...

PostedJanuary 19, 2012
Customer avatar
SilviaV
From: Idaho
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I had an older Starbucks espresso machine for many years and it performed flawlessly. I eventually needed a new one and was pleased to see a Saeco for sale here. I ordered it & found a few things that were disappointing. First, the brew time is manual so you have to really concentrate on how long the water runs through your grounds - I've fouled up several times and let it run too long. Second, the machine has to be turned on by pressing a button on the side and then waiting for the brew button to turn red, indicating the water is hot enough to brew. You then then have to press the red lighted button to brew. I have left this left side on button "on" many times - for hours even - it's easy to forget when you're not used to it. When brewed correctly the espresso is very good #I make lattes and, overall, I enjoy my machine. Good deal for the price but can be a hassle.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This is our first expresso machine, works well for a right-handed person

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Adv76
From: Tampa, FL
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of use 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This is our first expresso machine. It took us a while to get the hang of it, but it makes a good latte. This is a machine for a right-handed person. As a lefty, I had to apply pressure to the handle backwards for me and had resulting wrist-shoulder problems, so my husband, a right hander, has been our barista.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aroma Espresso Machine by Saeco
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing model!

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
anonymous
From: Irvine, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
We bought two SAECO Barista Espresso machines from Starbucks years ago and they were great while they lasted. This new model is sluggish, the foam does not thicken, and the sprout on the right side of the machine is cumbersome. We thought getting it from Starbucks again would be a safe and satisfactory bet, but as it turned out, we had to spend another $33.86 to ship it back. Too bad Saeco discontinued the older Barista models!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.