Starbucks Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea

Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea

A breakfast-style black tea of malty boldness & bright flavor, invigorating any time of day.
Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22100%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Review 1 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Tea, Limited Shelf Life

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
PyroOnFire
Gender:male
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Tea is great. Shelf life is two years but the product I received had less than 6 months remaining.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tazo Awake Loose Lea Tea

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: San Diego, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
This is a great full bodied black tea. Goes well with milk, cream, flavored creamier, honey and lemon. Or just by itself.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect black iced tea!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Pam227
From: St. Louis
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I use this to make iced tea and it is perfect. The best iced tea I have ever made and you can adjust its strength to you preference. Even gives a little extra energy. I highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good, full-bodied dark tea

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
jackie45
From: Austin, TX, USA
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
I like loose tea and this is a good one. It's full-bodied enough to have with a little cream and sugar and yet not lose its distinctive flavor to the additions. Be sure to brew it the full five minutes, however, to get the maximum effect.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

exellent tea

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Leanne57
From: Sarasota, FL, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
very happy to be able to buy this loose leaf. excellent tea whether you make it stronger or weaker it is quite delicious.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loose Leaf Awake tea even better

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Baylee
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
I bought the loose leaf tea hoping to get the same flavor at home as I get at my favorite Starbucks. I don't drink coffee but I am in need of caffeine. A bit of a tea snob. It has taken some time but I think I have it. I have purchased the retail tea bags before but they are smaller than the ones used in store. To get close with the K-Cups I had to use 2 cups which got me close to the flavor but more expensive in the long run. The loose leaf allows me to get the full flavor. I might like it even more because I can make it in my home.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleasant enjoyable breakfast tea.

PostedOctober 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Bob215
From: Richmond,KY
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
Without a doubt this is the best Loose Leaf Black Breakfast tea I have tried...since giving up coffee due to a health issue, I have searched for an adequate, bold, tasty replacement. I have tried numerous other black teas, but none satisfied my cravings. Awake Loose Leaf is by far the best! Now my mornings get a boost with a wonderful hot cup of pleasure...I no longer miss coffee!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wonderful after a long day

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Rockcress
From: Japan
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I enjoy this tea when I come home after a long day. It has nice flavor and mild. However, there are times I would love to have a more robust, malty tea when I need more of a boost.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Robust and satisfying

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Anglophile
From: Texas
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I love a robust cuppa with milk in the morning and this tea is grand for a rounded deep flavor and nice finish. Good job, Starbucks, on carrying this blend. Even better will be when you have the choices of individual leaves so I can get a whole leaf Kenya or Assam. For now, this will be my staple.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My lost tea is found.

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Customer avatar
OldMonty1
From: Denver
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
What a surprise to find that a coffee company sells my favorite tea product. My previous source for Tazo loose leaf tea quit handling it. "Awake" has been a favorite for for several years and loose leaf is a better option.
I only recently became aware that Starbucks online could satisfy my lost need.
ps I am also a Starbucks coffee fan.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent morning and iced tea

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Customer avatar
joee
From: Small town America at the edge of the Bay Area
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
This is a very robust black tea. It has more character than an English Breakfast, probably more similar to a good Irish Breakfast although a bit bolder and more complex. My experience is that if you brew it up to 3 minutes you get a beautiful red cup with lots of flavor and low tannins. Once you brew over three minutes, the color shifts fairly rapidly from red to brown and the tea gets more tannic.
I find the tea to be strong enough that I use one teaspoon per 16 ounces of water just off the boil if I'm going to drink it hot. For iced tea I double the proportion to compensate for dilution from the ice.
I grew up in the south, so I usually like this tea sweet with a wedge of lemon.
The loose tea is much, much less expensive than the sachets, and tastes significantly better than the bags. I find that $13.95 for 8 oz (not 4, which seems to be the standard for most tea vendors) is a good price. I think that $4.95 shipping is rather high for a half pound package, but I order at least two bags to dilute the cost. It's too bad that Starbucks carries little to no loose leaf tea in it's stores anymore.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

favorite tea

PostedApril 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Ruthee
From: ND
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
I first received Tazo tea as a gift from a friend, it was so much better than teas we had been buying & we like the tea bags but the loose-leaf tea is much more flavorful.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Tea

PostedApril 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: Dallas, TX, USA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
I ordered the loose-leaf Awake Tea, and I have a couple cups a day at least. It goes a very long way, and even though it might be a tad bit on the pricey side, I think it is worth the money. The shipping was pretty quick, too. I recommend buying a tin for this loose tea so you don't have to keep it in the same bag it came in and risk it losing flavor. I absolutely recommend this tea.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tasting tea

PostedApril 3, 2012
Customer avatar
jwsavhGT
From: Savannah, GA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
I like a tea with bold flavor and Tazo Awake Loose Leaf satisfies. I use Tazo Awake in bags when I am at work but like to enjoy a brewed cup of Awake loose leaf when I am at home. Very good in the afternoon for that needed lift.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great taste, big leaves!

PostedApril 1, 2012
Customer avatar
JoeTeaDrinker
From: California, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
It's wonderful to find a loose leaf black tea that is comprised of large pieces of tea leaves, rather than something closer to powder. It requires longer steeping to bring out the flavor (of course) and the flavor is wonderful - rich and full and fresh.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great when blended w/Earl Grey Lavender

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Customer avatar
IcedTeaAddict
From: Portland, Oregon
I drank Starbucks iced tea 5 days a week for years until last summer when I stopped because they changed the tea. I then started blending tea to try and replicate that wonderful tea. I now get my fix from small batches I make from this tea (3 Tbs Awake + 1 Tbs Earl Grey Lavender). I found that if blended it with Earl Grey Lavender it is like the tea Starbucks used to serve in their stores.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really like Awake tea

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
anonymous
From: Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
We have been enjoying Awake for several years in the bag and sachet. I was glad to find it available in bulk! It saves money and I can make a pot instead of a cup. Now if you would just carry more of your other blends in bulk, ie Joy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

PostedMay 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: IOWA CITY, IA
The total cost with shipping was higher than the value.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tasting black tea!

PostedApril 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Isabella K
From: SEATTLE, WA
I was given a lovely and easy to use infuser for Christmas, and I started buying
my favorite tea in bulk to use with it. It tastes so much better than when you use a tea
bag, especially the paper ones. And, although it is expensive, it is a lot better than
buying bags, especially the ones in the fabric bags that are, I suspect, not compostable
or biodegradable. Awake really is the best tasting black tea I know of. I wish I could
drink it all day long!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tazo® Awake™ Loose Leaf Black Tea
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My favorite Tazo, now cost-effective!

PostedApril 5, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: LOS ANGELES, CA
This makes a really good cup of tea, but you need to get the measure just right.
You can''t just add a little extra thinking it will add to the flavor like coffee
does, as it just gets bitter. My husband and I, former coffee drinkers, tend to prefer a
strong tea, and Awake is definitely one of the stronger ones. And once you get the hang of
it, it''s a real treat. It''s our morning cup every morning, in a little teapot
made for two. The bag is a much better value than Tazo''s Full-Leaf tea sachets (the
ones that come in the tin) and the flavor is better than the boxed tea. Shipping is a
total drag, though this seems to be the only place to buy it. I wish they would carry it
in stores.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 next>>