Starbucks Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Starbucks
Gifts & Extras or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar

Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar

A magnetic chalkboard advent calendar with 25 reusable tins containing sweet treats and a $5 Mini Starbucks Card.
Overall rating:
4.025 / 5
4
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
3
1 Star
3
30 out of 3879%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Review 1 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute, delicious

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Customer avatar
Kili
From: DC
Loved the caramels.... in fact, came to the site today looking to buy more. Not a fan of salted caramel, but a friend is, so it worked out well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

No Gift Card in the 2013 Advent Calendar

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
deettajones
From: Memphis, TN, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
I bought this cute advent calendar because I wanted to reuse it each year. A little disappointed that each day was a caramel. But, was content with it and looked forward to the little gift card. Imagine my surprise when yesterday, Dec. 25, when there was NO gift card. Went back to my fave location and they replaced it with another calendar . Guess what? No gift card in that one either! Either it is a factory error OR, since it was only taped from the back, some ingenious shoplifter pulled out all the little cards. Either way...I got no gift card! Bummer! Glad I didn't give it as a gift which I had thought about doing...
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lack of variety

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Ryan99
Advent calendars are supposed to contain a variety of gifts... this one contained only two types of caramel. Fine otherwise.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fun, multi-tasking, and yummy

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Customer avatar
SunnySarah20
From: Tacoma, WA, USA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
I loved the idea of this calendar-definitely better than the cardboard ones I grew up with. The chocolates in those always tasted waxy to me. The caramels in these tins are delicious! Better a bit warm, though. And I love that the magnetic chalkboard can be reused after the holidays; a multi-use decoration is perfect for my small apartment. Plus, the plain light wood frame is just begging to be decorated.
The only issue I have with it, and thus 4/5 and not 5/5, is the sea salt caramels. The sea salt is mixed into the caramel, not sprinkled on top. When I had the first one of the bunch, the random grainy crunching in the caramel worried me that some of my dental work had broken off. Since that was a pricey expenditure for me with my limited income, it was and is a continued minor worry. Even though I know the salt is what's crunching and not my teeth, it's still a little disconcerting.
Otherwise, this is a fun twist on an old tradition, and I recommend it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Boring advent calendar

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
KKeigher
From: San Francisco Bay Area, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
I was really excited to pick up this beautiful advent calendar this year. I literally bought it as soon as I saw it because it was so cute and I loved the ones I had in the past.
However, after a few days of opening tins, I was disappointed in the lack of variety in the "sweet treats" promised. While the website had more detail about what was inside, the packaging indicated much more variety.
I'm sorry, but ALL caramels? Really? An advent calendar is about the excitement of what you'll get each day. Even when you know it's going to be a piece of chocolate, the surprise is its shape or variety. Alternating vanilla and sea salt just feels lazy.
The packaging is beautiful, and I the only thing I can say for this product is that I can reuse it next year and fill it with treats of my choice. As for this year...disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Needs some support, but nice for new tradition

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Customer avatar
ChrisMcG
From: Mobile, AL, USA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
The calendar and tins are nicely made. We really like the designs on the tin and variety of sizes for future goodies.
However, the chalkboard does not do well hanging alone. At certain angles the tins fall off. We've found it works well on our mantle and may place on a bookcase or shelf in the future.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Caramel EVERY Day?

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Kate18
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
The display is beautiful, the chalkboard will be nice when the tins are off, and I'm sure I can find a use for such pretty tins. But, really Starbucks? Caramel EVERY day?
The point of an advent calendar is a new surprise every day even if the chocolate is a horrible flavor. Of course, beautiful displays make the experience more enjoyable, but for the price you are asking, it's disappointing to find caramel day after day.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cute but Disappointed with the contents

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
3Blairs
From: Northern California
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
It is a very cute idea and fun, but it wasn't clear when purchased that EVERY tin had the same "surprise". They all had the same squished caramel (except the last one with the $5 card). We added little things to each tin so it will seem more of a surprise when opening each day.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cute, but be careful of display

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
suzie25
Adorably cute and a good size, but as others noted, the lids do fall off easily. As soon as I took mine out, I had to shift 2 lids back in place. Still really cute.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's Perfect!

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Customer avatar
lollygag
From: Monterey, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
I've been looking for a permanent Advent Calendar for a while and this fits the bill. After Advent is over, I can continue to use the board for messages.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great idea, awesome gift!

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Gmaduke
From: Gainesville, VA, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
I bought two to give to my daughter and daughter-in-law and I am very pleased with the packaging and appearance. This is a great idea as the chalk board and tins are useable. I am always looking for that unique gift and this certainly fits the bill. Couldn't be happier, unless someone bought me one :-)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not as expected

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Mag13
From: NY
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
Not worth the price, the ribbon is flimsy and will not last long.I thought this would be nice for small storage for crafting, but the magnets barely hold.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Darling advent calendar

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Maribridgid
From: Olathe, KS, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Well made, perfect for grown children living away during the holidays, perfect for small NYC apartments, could hang year round use as chalkboard, spice tins, surprises for special days!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great purchase

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Claire123
From: Orland
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
No problems with the lids coming off. I am very happy with this product. I bought this for my husband's office and he loves it. It is contemporary and not as childish as many countdown calendars.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charming gift that can be re used year after year.

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Marmie
From: Delaware, OH 43015, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I purchased one for myself and another as a gift. The calendar is exactly as pictured. The tin canisters are colorful and retro looking. The wood frame and magnetic board are of good quality. This beats out cardboard calendars with cheap, wax chocolates. Finally, shipping was timely! Thank you Starbucks.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect for me and gifting

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
jcon
From: Baltimore, MD, USA
I bought 3 of these 2 gifts and one for myself. What I liked best was that it was not covered with traditional Christmas icons. very nice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

ok

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
nclb
From: Monterey, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
The caramels are OK. For $30, I just wouldn't reuse the board or tins.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Atkas
From: Henderson co
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Anything that is reusable is a good thing to get plus this looks cool too.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Such an awesome advent calendar!

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
Kerby
From: Rochester Hills, MI
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I love this advent calendar. The lids are staying on the small tins just fine. I love the look-it's classy and fun! I did a little sneaky taste test and the caramels are yummy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Tin & Chalkboard Advent Calendar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What an exciting gift!

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Customer avatar
bRight
From: Chicago, IL, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
No problem with my lids.
Different sizes of gold shiny tints resemble little Christmas lights on the black chalkboard. Can't wait to write bright wishes for the New Year on the chalkboard afterwards (hope there's a little chalk in the last tint ;)
What a marketing idea!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 next>>