Starbucks Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Starbucks
Starbucks Reserve® Coffee or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku

Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku

A rare treat, high-altitude coffee from the Mount Oku region in western Cameroon.
Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
22 out of 2588%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Review 1 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dissapointed

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: Markham, ON, Canada
Gender:male
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Surprisingly dissapointed on the 1st try, then tried it 2 more times on different day. Now i can concluded this bean is a complete diaaspointment.
Production code KRP108253H0705 110252
low to none aroma
strong herbal notes
hint of earth
no foral notes
flat in taste and aroma.
slight bitter finish
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent, Well Rounded Coffee

PostedJune 21, 2013
Customer avatar
PDubPDX
From: Portland, OR
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
My wife and I just received and tried the Cameroon Mt Oku this morning. Although full bodied, its not overpowering. The low acidity makes it easy to enjoy especially as a first cup of coffee in the morning. Very nice with a pastry and citrus fruit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Coffee

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
ProspectiveCoffeeMaster
From: Salem, OR, USA
Gender:male
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
The Reserve coffees always seem to live up to the price, but Cameroon Mt Oku is a step above. The description nails the character of this roast, from the strong herbal and floral flavors, to the uniquely delicious black pepper flavors that, after trying my first press, I can't wait to pair with some untraditional foods for coffee! Being a partner, I can say that Oku is even better than the comparable coffees sold in your local store. Well worth the extra money, even if only as a treat for a significant occasion.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

very good coffee.

PostedJune 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Marvin60
From: Denver, Co
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
This is a very good coffee, but of course, a bit pricey! As SB claims it is full bodied, with' herbal and floral notes" The peppercorn overtones are very light and almost unnoticeable, although they are there. I am pleased that I have had the opportunity to taste and enjoy this rare bean. If there were not so many more Starbuck's reserve to try I would buy more. I just might anyway, since I am enjoying it very much and so are my friends who are lucky enough to get a cup! (I tend to be a bit stingy with the really good stuff)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well Balanced

PostedJune 8, 2013
Customer avatar
brickwormpoet
From: Omaha, NE, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Cameroon Mt Oku is a very well balanced coffee that is full of flavor, but with low acidity. Enjoy this coffee black, as it's after-taste is very clean and quite pleasant. I have ordered Cameroon Mt Oku four times and will continue to get it as long as it is available.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great unique coffee

PostedMay 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Coffeeisgreat
From: New Mexico, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I am enjoying this coffee. The flavor/brews is not as dark or strong as I was initially expecting. Although I only use enough of the beans to make a light/medium brew. Don't want to waste the beans...overall I like it and would recommend it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
mocha29
From: Indiana, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Wasn't sure what to expect with this coffee but really wish I hadn't waited so long to try it. I use it as espresso in mocha lattes and it works really well. Need to order more.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great coffee, as usual.

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Debrae1956
From: Prescott, AZ, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I enjoy the variety of coffee Starbucks offers. I like to switch flavors rather than use the same one everytime. Thanks Starbucks!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Exceptional Coffee!

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
SoCalSurfRunner
From: Sunny Southern California
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This is really an exceptional coffee. The aroma is amazing: floral and citrus. Then when you taste it the herbal and spice notes are front and center. It's very pleasant without being overwhelming. Then it finishes with the floral and citrus notes that you first experienced in the aroma. It's a very balanced coffee. Not one of the notes overpowers the others. That is quite a feat for a single origin coffee. Hats off to the farmers, processors and roasters that brought this coffee to life.
I first tried this coffee in a French press. It was very good but sometimes herbal and spicy coffees can be overpowering when brewed in a French press. So I next tried this coffee as a pour over. BINGO! The pour over method really helps bring this coffee into perfect balance and quite honestly I don't believe cream and sugar is needed.
Living in Southern California, we get plenty of winter days in the 70s so I decided to try this coffee as an iced coffee. I am glad I did. I use the pour over method and brew directly onto ice. Instantly cooling the coffee tames the herbal and spicy notes and highlights the floral notes. I like my iced coffee that way. If you are going to use this for iced coffee, and I hope you do, remember to brew your coffee at double strength so that your finished product is not diluted and watered down.
As always, pay attention to your grind, proportion, temperature and time. Coarse grind for a French press, medium grind for automatic brewers, medium-fine for a pour over. 2 tablespoons of ground coffee per 6 ounces of water (double the coffee for iced coffee). Use good water. Coffee is 98% water so if you start with bad water you will end up with bad coffee. Water should be just off the boil (195-205 degrees). Steep for 4 minutes in a French press. If doing a pour over, it should take 3-4 minutes to complete your brew.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really all around pleasant coffee.

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Robet
From: Leesburg, Va
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Smooth and well balanced medium bodied coffee. It's not strong. It's not mild . I was glad to be able to reorder.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really great coffee

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Steve53
From: SC
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Excellent coffee with a very smooth taste and a very pleasant finish. I just wish more came in a bag.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent, smooth tasting coffee

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Customer avatar
Oddrick
From: Stuttgart Germany
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
The aroma is exotic to the senses; it is like heaven rising through my nose. I was excited to get the product home so I could brew a small pot and enjoy a wonderful cup of coffee. I was not disappointed, the aroma and mellow flavor as it rolled across my tongue a rich full body coffee. One could almost sense the deep rich volcanic soil these beans are grown in. Now I cannot wait till Sat. morning when I awake, sit on my deck and enjoy this coffee watching the sun rise.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Plain

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Customer avatar
CB68
From: Asheville, NC, USA
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This coffee last anything unique or interesting. Try the Ethiopia Sidamo.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rich and smooth

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Eugene
From: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
This is a great way to enjoy your morning.. Rich and Smooth.. and intense Flavor.. Its worth the price ! I am reordering already !
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Blah

PostedFebruary 7, 2013
Customer avatar
SaraSalt
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I found this coffee very boring. I'd rather have one of Starbucks core coffees.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tasting

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Vito23
From: NY
Gender:male
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
The coffee tasted great, but it was not bold enough for my liking.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tasting coffee!!!

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
red7
From: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I would order this coffee bean again! My husband grinds his own coffee beans every morning and uses the coffee press - taste so fresh and delicious!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Daring Adventure!!!

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Customer avatar
1984LMN
From: British Columbia, Canada
One of the best Reserves I have tried...and there have been many. Very low acidity with a full mouth feel. I paired it with the Spiced Chocolate Biscotti and it was a very chocolatey fiery explosion in my mouth. Left me feeling warm and tingly. If you like spicy food and chocolate this is where it's at. Very rich chocolatey flavour and then finishes of with a bit of warm heat and peppery flavor.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

explodes with crisp smooth flavor ..light finish

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Customer avatar
palmetto
From: South Carolina
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
When I opened the bag the first time as a gift from a friend the aroma leaped out of the bag...I knew then it was special...it is a coffee that can be drunk anytime of day simply wonder..expensive but worth it
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starbucks Reserve® Cameroon Mt Oku
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic!

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
taytay
From: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Surprisingly delicious for its price! My favorite daily drink!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 next>>