Starbucks Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black

Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black

Make all your favorite Starbucks® beverages at the touch of a button, one cup at a time, with the new Verismo™ V•585 Brewer. Every machine ships with a box of our Espresso Roast Pods and includes free ground shipping.
Overall rating:
3.385 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
16 out of 2564%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Review 1 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drops the pods :/

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Customer avatar
StarbucksUnhappy000
From: So. California
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
It waste way to many pods in my verisimo. I love the convenience of making my lattes at my own home but not only does it drop the pods without any results but it waste alot of powder in the milk pods I once opened the milk used pod and wow to my amazement what a waste I dont pay for pods to waste them but to use every bit of it. Unfortunately i paid about 200.00 for mine now theyve gone down 50.00 dls wont reccomend or buy another one stuck with mine :( what a waste of money
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Islander57
From: Annapolis, MD, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I found that the Verismo 585 does everything that the description said it would do and makes a great cup of coffee! I read many reviews before my purchase and people either loved this machine or they hated it. I went to the Starbucks in Annapolis Harbour Center and one of the employees behind the counter gave me a complete run down on the machine and how it operated and even made coffee and a latte for me so I could see how it tasted! This was what sold me on the system. I wish I could remember the guys name, but all I remember is he had dark hair and a beard and was extremely helpful in my decision to purchase. I have not experienced any of the flukes that people were writing about such as false errors or leaking or pods dropping through to the waste bin. I love this machine!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic coffee Maker

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Customer avatar
HillCountry13
From: Georgetown, TX, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This is my 10th coffee maker---hands down-- this is the best one! Easy to use, great tasting coffee, and allows me to make the right coffee----- for the time of day!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Love the espresso!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Peaches
From: Crockett, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I love the flavor of this espresso. I am having a bit of a time trying to make the perfect cup of coffee. I enjoy strong coffee, so one pod is not enough. Two with the right amount of water....still figuring that out. I do notice when making the coffee, it still has a bit of foam. I am not sure if I need to clean it more in between the cycle or not. I have yet to try the latte. Overall, the machine is easy to use and keep clean. I love the convenience of having this machine in my own kitchen!
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice, rich, full coffee taste

PostedJune 24, 2013
Customer avatar
Misty
From: Seneca, SC, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This machine makes exceptional coffee. I like
the coffee from this machine as well as I like
Starbucks coffee from the coffee shops.
Nice, rich, and full coffee taste. Add the
convenience; and it makes for a wonderful
experience!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORTH EVERY PENNY

PostedMay 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Thetennisnet
From: Houston, TX, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
20 seconds hot and ready to give perfect espresso.
Duppio for one dollar. Better than 215 at Starbucks and no gas to get there and wait in line and drive back
Have two of these
Order pods a week before a trip.
Wife took one to office for after lunch perk up and the other is solely for trips.
Bought in NYC BECAUSE 50 floors down 30 degrees outside and 50 floors up. And double the price
Convenience at half price with no waste of gas or
Time
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding coffee brewer

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Customer avatar
Mark678
From: Jackson, TN, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I purchased this Verismo V585 brewer for customer and employee use at my retail store 2 weeks ago. My employees and I have been using it along with the free boxes of pods that shipped with it and we are extremely impressed. I will be making it available to customers next week. The large water reservoir (about a gallon) is easy to remove and refill and the operation of the brewer is quite simple. The brewer heats the water in 15 seconds and makes an 8 ounce cup of coffee quickly. The taste of the coffee is great and the latte is also pretty good. Looking forward to more flavor pods being released. Clean up at the end of the day is a breeze. If you are looking for a single cup brewer that makes coffee, latte or espresso, look no further.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
29of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love The Lattes

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Stressgirl70
From: Long Beach, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
I got the Verismo V-585 for Christmas and I love it. My favorite is the lattes. I make them with 2 shots of espresso from the same pod and one pod of milk and they're delicious.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I feel like a Barista

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Meace
From: Greenville, SC, USA
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
My husband gave me this machine for C'mas because our local Starbucks has gotten very slow with its service. I love being able to drop in my pod and go! I do steam my own milk for my latte. Not crazy about the milk pods( that's why it gets four , not five stars). The Verismo is long over due and my FAVORITE thing of 2013!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
17of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love this machine a latte !

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
telepro21
From: Keller, TX, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
We purchased the Verismo as an anniversary gift for ourselves. We just love the lattes that it makes and the brewed coffees, too. We chose the larger model so that we could have the option of filtered water. An important note is that if you use the optional charcoal water filter be sure to rinse a few extra times during setup to make sure that the water runs through cleanly. Then brew that first coffee or latte. Absolutely perfect!
The settings are easy to adjust and the instructions are well illustrated.
If you prefer a latte that is just a little less bold, then when you are making the espresso cycle, just run the cycle twice. This provides a larger serving and mellows the espresso perfectly.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
26of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

veriismo 585

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
buster
From: rural ohio..45320
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
like the machine..it is sort of touchy with the pods but after you get the hang of it works well for home brew latte. Just read info and watch video..have fun with it
Yes, I recommend this product.
-6points
12of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

returned 2 of the same machine

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
NinaP
From: Tarzana, Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
The machines leaked, did no function as advertised and one of them was rather loud also, the second one I returned was not as loud but still had issues with the pod container wanting to be emptied when there was only two pods in it, and it leaked a bit too though not as much as the first one!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
19of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Customer avatar
Sleep1518
From: Oak Harbor, WA, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
Thanks for a wonderful espresso shot at home. This machine will not save you money. It is not about the money. It is about having this quality of coffee and espresso in your kitchen! That is huge for me.
You do have to make a second cup if you want mega coffee. It is hot and perfect every time so come on. Hard to believe some complain about this wonderful coffee /espresso.
Love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Produces Great Tasting Coffee, with some minor engineering issues

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Sleep999
From: Kansas
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
I absolutely like the taste of the brewed coffee over that of the K-Cup. Thank you.
The V-585 is noisy - everyone on the first floor of our home is aware that I am making coffee.
The V-585 is engineered well, but is a little short on quality of materials and the fitting of the front waste storage compartment. You should really reconsidered how this product is manufactured or consider producing a upscaled model that is quieter and has better materials and fit.
However, having said this,I am not giving up my V-585 - gone are the K-Cups and thank you for the great tasting coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedDecember 30, 2012
Customer avatar
FrankfromAiken
From: Aiken, SC, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
We usually have the whole bean Verona roast prepared in our Cusinart whole bean grinder coffee maker. We make 16 oz each of a strong coffee. With the Verissmo and Verona, you get 8 oz of a weaker (for us) coffee and it is not hot enough for our taste. We have to warm up the cups beforehand. Regarding the latte, it has a good tast, however, if you are like me, a venti drinker, you need to double up(expensive) as the Verissmo makes only an 8 oz latte. If you are in a hurry in the AM, use a via packet, and get your latte at your nearest Starbucks.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+17points
25of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vermiso 585

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Rbunz
From: Monument, CO
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I bought this for company over the holidays and I love it. I got is on sell for 250.00 great price.
Everyone made the kind of latte they wanted and it worked great. Everyone loved and enjoyed the great starbucks latte's like carmel macchiatos, tuxedos, peppermint mochas, lattes and coffees. It was a big hit in my home over the holidays and people enjoyed making their own lattes and coffee.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
20of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lost Cause

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Customer avatar
SnowyWonderland
From: Calgary, AB, Canada
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
CONS:
1) The empty used pod container lights up in the middle of brewing coffee, or expresso, even though the pod container is empty or has one or two pods in it.. Unfortunately, this interrupts the brewing process. Once the machine figures out it has made a mistake, it starts again. Now the drink is completely ruined because it also adds additional water.
Or, the light comes on and machine won't work. But, the used pod container is completely empty, and clean. And, there isn't even a pod ready and waiting to be used.
2) The pods regularly fall through the machine into the used pod container, even though they haven't been used. This requires opening the lever to have the unused pod drop through. Then opening the used pod container, retrieving a wet pod container (if there were any others in there) and trying again.
3) I tried using a clean and dry pod container at all times. Mind you, this really does defeat the entire purpose of having a used pod container. I found that a lot of water accumulates in the drip tray, but not from the spout so it must be leaking water from behind, or dumping extra water when the pod is dropped.
4) The drip tray the mug sits on is scratched and I am only on day one. Only my parents and I have used the machine gently, so although this is minor it is sad.
PROS:
Honestly, it is hard to think of any when the machine is completely useless. Oh, my father enjoyed great laughter as my expensive machine kept flashing "empty used pod container" when it was empty.
My husband thought this machine would be a reflection of Starbucks quality found in their mugs and coffee. Also, he thought this machine would provide a variety of hot beverages to visiting friends and family. I wonder if this product was even field tested or whether it was rushed into production? I hope that Starbucks pulls their machines and starts over.
My 585 has not lasted one day. So very sad. Now to convince my husband that it is fun to return the machine during Boxing Day craziness.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+20points
43of 66voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Realpayne81
From: Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Outstanding product, enjoy the coffee the expresso and the latee's. It will save you lots of money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Major oversights

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Alc116
Gender:female
I love this concept but how can you sell this without the option for skim or lowfat milk? I only drink skim and without that option for lattes etc, it makes this system useless. Also, no option for sugar free syrups and powders that are sold for this system, ie the mocha.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-11points
26of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Verismo™ V•585 Brewer Piano Black
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not as good as you would expect

PostedDecember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
alawai1967
Gender:male
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Disappointed in product. Temperature is not hot enough, some pods slip through without working so you have to open the container and retrieve them and the latte taste is not as good as the real thing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+22points
30of 38voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 next>>