Starbucks Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u

Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u

A rare coffee with fresh coconut and caramel flavors and hints of citrus and nut.
Overall rating:
4.057 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
37 out of 5074%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Review 1 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Definitely not a Kona - Great flavor and texture

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
theMacKae
From: Sandy, OR, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This is definitely a coffee to be used on a special occasions. As it is just Valentine's Day, it was a perfect choice.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty Good

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
jimmyjamesblueflames
From: USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This coffee is better than most Kona's. The price is comparable, but this coffee is more consistant than most coffee people sell as kona.
Nice nutty mellow flavor, reminds me of areally nice Kenyan AA.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

So smooth

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Pambruglia
From: Louisiana
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:A can of Doubleshot
I like a mild coffee and this coffee is delicious. My husband and I drank the entire bag in one weekend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Taste of Hawaii @ home

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Lmc1980
From: Massachusetts
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I absolutely love this coffee! It reminds me of sipping Kona coffee in Hawaii. Great quality. Keep coming back for more!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

sweet and smooth

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
suzi21
From: philadelpihia
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
sweet, but not too much and only a slight taste of coconut. smooth and as easily drinkable in the afternoon as the morning.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Just OK tasting coffee

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
tjl86
From: New Hampshire, USA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Certainly not worth the thing the writing guidelines suggest I refrain from mentioning.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Very Good

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Customer avatar
mikelcoffee
From: austin, tx
Gender:male
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I was really looking forward to a cup of Hawaii Ka'u-- but it was disappointing. Upon opening the bag, about 25% of the beans were crushed and brittle. The coffee that wasn't damaged was lackluster. For $50 a Pound, I was expecting a great Hawaiian coffee-- I've had several different ones over the years and this particular coffee was nowhere near justifying the price point. I will not buy this coffee ever again, nor will I venture back to Starbucks for their Reserve Coffee-- especially since the beans didn't even arrive in good condition. I mean, really?
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great coffee

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Customer avatar
FelixMom
From: AZ
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I made this using my cold press and it was/is really smooth and fragrant I will be buying lots more, there is a good article in the Jan sunset mag about Kau coffee growers...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of a kind taste

PostedDecember 21, 2013
Customer avatar
mikeyb
From: Fontana, CA
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
As soon as you open the bag, you can smell the amazing aroma of this coffee. When you take a sip, great flavours for a one of a kind experience. You have to try it at least once, but it will not stop at just 1 cup!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Coffee

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
Dianak1000
From: Chicago, IL, USA
I love the way this coffee tasted. I will buy again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Rock
From: Queens, NY, USA
Gender:male
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Almost as good as your top Kona and Blue Mountain blends. A very good cup of coffee. Not bitter, not weak.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best coffee blend

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
KROCK45
From: New York, NY, USA
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
Love this coffee, this is the favorite coffee of my wife and I. We brew this on special occasions such as birthdays and holidays and it always delivers smiles, great taste and aroma.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Kona - probably one of the best pre-roasted Hawaiian's on the planet

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
buckwheat
From: atlanta
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
You'll be hard pressed to find a better pre-roasted Kona - mainly because you simply never know what you're getting when ordering direct from the estate. This even beats the Molokai estate coffees. You can bet SB's insists on the same bean, same grade, same size and the same roast on every batch. If anything, IMHO it could probably stand another 30 secs of roasting (or a slower cool-down) to darken it up just a bit and bring out even more sugars. As is, this coffee is so incredibly sweet with molasses that you'll find you only need 1/2 the sugar you usually use. Another SB that's similar is the Peaberry, but as everyone knows it's nearly IMPOSSIBLE to roast peaberry. <<-- SB roasters I'm sure will agree. So the peaberry will turn out bitter, very "earth" tasting, maybe even dry/powdery through the grinder. Never been a fan of Peaberry because it's either charcoal or raw dirt - and impossible to get anything in between. That's why the peaberry coffee doesn't have a review page out here llol ---- Anyway back to Ka'u - I'd suggest you grind it a tick finer than usual as are most Hawaiian's they tend to be dry when roasted for espresso as these are. But this will really surprise you - wait till you pull a shot for your best friend and watch the expression - priceless. I wouldn't do it for everyone or you'll go through 10 bags / week llol
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool complexity

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Dahl
From: Kalispell, MT
Gender:male
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I finally got around to opening my bag of Hawaii Ka'u to brew in my Chemex brewer. This coffee is extremely smooth. In my coffee journey, I am finding that coffee doesn't always present a full range of flavors when it is hot. Besides the risk of burning your mouth, there is usually very little that you can get out of a cup of coffee other than the body and mouthfeel. As this coffee cooled to probably 15-20° warmer than body temperature, flavors such as coconut, toasted nuts, and hints of tropical fruit came through at various points. There is an aftertaste of coconut, which I am not super fond of. This coffee, as other reviewers are saying, would probably be good iced with some cream (or even coconut milk?) and sugar. I am definitely going to enjoy the rest of this bag.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Over roasted and tasteless

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Customer avatar
CoffeeLuver
From: Tampa Bay,
Gender:male
Age:55-65
There is little to say about this coffee other than it was roasted so dark it had a burned taste and was not at all flavorful. In addition, there were an abundance of cracked pieces of beans mixed with the whole beans. I don't believe I have ever received such a poor quality coffee at such a premium price. After tasting one cup, I decided to return it and I am currently awaiting a refund. Truly, I was greatly disappointed in this "Reserve" coffee.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Luxury Smooth

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Customer avatar
CoffeeLuver3333
From: Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Great smooth tasting coffee! My favorite. I also tried the Costa Rica and it was great. Looking forward to trying the others and wish more locations served these.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like it iced

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Customer avatar
errn9
From: Warwick, RI
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
After trying the Jamaican and Panama coffees, which I really liked, I tried the Ka'u today. I ordered a venti size at the store, added a little cream. Drinking this coffee hot, I really didn't taste the coconut and citrus flavors, but did however get a hint of salted caramel and nut flavor. When I arrived home I decided to ice it and add a little sugar. Iced with a little cream and sugar, really brings out the coconut and citrus flavors as well as the caramel and nut overtones. This really isn't a full-bodied, bold flavored coffee, but is really tasty when iced.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazingly Smooth

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Customer avatar
dueceiswild
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
I've always been a little coffee with my cream and sugar kind of guy, only drinking coffee purely for it's shot to productivity and not it's flavor. But I received a bag of this as a gift and it changed my whole outlook on what coffee could be, should be. It's a bit pricey, but I have yet to share a pot with someone who wasn't impressed.
Granted, I'd never really ground my own coffee before, nor sprung for more than the advertised tins on the average grocery store shelves or a glorified coffee flavored shake from the corner cafe shack.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I loved it, it tasted sooo good

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Pjoriginals
From: Spring Hill, KS, USA
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Strawberries & Crème Frappuccino® Blended Beverage
I would recommend this to any one, it is well worth the money. I love the taste of coconut, even smell so good while it is brewing, I will buy it again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starbucks Reserve® Hawaii Ka'u
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fanfreakingtastic!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Firedog13
From: Illinois, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
Most flavored coffees don't live up to the hype.
K'au does! From the aroma when you first grind it, growing more complex as it brews, to that first sip of bold, flavorful wonder that is smooth and non-acidic with after notes that leave you wanting for more.
Yeah, it is that good!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 3 next>>