Starbucks Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Starbucks
Starbucks VIA® or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus

Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus

An instantly refreshing blend of sweet, tangy flavors with the natural energy of green coffee extract.
Overall rating:
4.544 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(158 reviews) 158
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 158 reviews
5 Stars
125
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
4
1 Star
7
140 out of 15590%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Review 1 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Kool-Aid for adults

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Customer avatar
sbuxJE
From: Roanoke, VA
Like a fruity-tart sangria. Tart sensation on sides and back of tongue. Aftertaste of Flintstones vitamins.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
33of 46voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bummer

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
CookieV
From: Seattle, WA
I was so excited to try the Very Berry Refresher, but was disappointed. I was immediately put off by the black seeds in my cup. I get the idea is to show that they're using real berries, but by the time I finished the drink the cup looked really gross. The first sip tasted like a chemical sweetener, and it did get a bit better after that but I still wouldn't order it again. I'm glad Starbucks is promoting the benefits of green coffee extract, but I think there's a better way to deliver. I will be trying the Lime Refresher...hoping it delivers a better taste
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
16of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Refreshing...

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Adjia
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
This new via is just the right amount of sweet. It is even better with some fresh berries thrown in the mix. The Very Berry Hibiscus is not as bitter at the passion fruit tea, and not as sweet as some of the iced drinks available.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

It's pretty good, but...

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Customer avatar
thebrooksstead
I agree with others in that the aftertaste from the stevia is off-putting. I would much rather they used all sugar instead of mixing sweeteners. Why not just release regular AND sugar-free versions? They're kind of shooting themselves in the foot trying to please everyone by cutting the calories and sugar content by using stevia in place of some of the sugar. I think they'll only end up losing both sets of customers on this product - people who don't like the taste of stevia and/or don't care about sugar content won't buy it and people wanting something lower in sugar or sugar-free won't buy it, either.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
22of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great Idea... needs real sugar

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
LoriG
From: Hartford, CT, USA
I like the idea of having a drink that utilizes coffee without coffee flavor however, the artifical sweetner is a real bummer. Great fruity flavor. I wish it had real sugar! Sadly I won't get this again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
7of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Real Sugar and Real Refreshing

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
mcksauntees
From: Napa, CA, USA
Gender:female
I'm not sure if the others who are commenting about the artificial sweetener got a different product, but mine (and the ingredients listed here) both state cane sugar as the first ingredient. I first tried this in the store and then purchased the VIA packs. The only difference between the two is that the VIA packs don't have the fresh fruit that the ones in the store have. The taste is spot on with those bought in store. I have one as my afternoon pick me up instead of a second iced coffee- yum!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Yuck!

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Beck
From: Chattanooga, TN
I tried this drink from an actual starbucks store and it was wonderful, so I figured I would try the Via's.... HORRIBLE. It taste like Splenda in water with a very very small hint of fruit. I knew this was over priced to being with, but after I tasted it, I wished I could get my money back. I normally love any and all things Starbucks, but this is something I will never purchase again and do NOT reccomend to anyone.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
9of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice treat at home

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Customer avatar
trosado
From: Lynden, WA 98264, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I prefer getting the very berry hibiscus refresher freshly made at my hometown Starbucks, but this is a nice treat when I don't feel like leaving the house. I have to admit I am a bit hooked on these. It is really hard to read reviews and get informed decisions on food products, because we all have different tastes. I would say start with a refresher drink at your local Starbuck's and if you like that, you'll probably be happy with the via. Truly, none of the Via drinks, whether you get hot, iced or refreshers, compare to getting the real deal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Refreshing but very sweet

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Customer avatar
justlexi
From: California
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Strawberries & Crème Frappuccino® Blended Beverage
I like how the drink tastes, much like the drink at the store but it's way to sweet if you use the recommended 16 oz cup. I used my venti cup filled full with ice and water and that made the drink a lot easier to swallow.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I really enjoyed it...

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer avatar
technoMars
From: Houston, TX, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I am a regular customer and consume this product at least once every other day or so. I do prefer the in-store freshly made Refreshers. The fresh beverage tastes much better than the Via version, however I'm usually drinking this either at work or while stuck in traffic trying to get home. The Very Berry Hibiscus Via is by far the best tasting Via product I have ever tried. The light fruity taste resembles kool-aid or crystal light type products and is quite...well, refreshing. I do not consume any type of artificial sweetener and would not purchase this product if Stevia was not the ingredient used to reduce the overall sugar content. If I want to consume a low calorie, sugar free, caffeinated beverage without the taste of coffee, I would just make a strong cup of tea or order a case of caffeinated water.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than the store!

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Icedanything
From: AZ
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A thermos of Starbucks VIA® Ready Brew
Ok, I had a sample of the handcrafted drink from the store and LOVED it, so I bought the via for home. I went to another starbucks and ordered a full size handcrafted Very Berry and could not drink it. It was very bad!! I don't understand the inconsistency between stores. Anyway, I love the flavor of the via and now it is the only way I can get this flavor I like. I do not taste the bad sweet taste others have complained about. Overall I really enjoy this flavor from the at home VIA. Very refreshing!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Berry escape!

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Taioko
From: Orlando,FL
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I absolutely love the Very Berry Hibiscus, it gives me the energy boost I need, while being delicious. Bonus! It took me a little bit to get past the Stevia, since I'm a Splenda girl, but now I don't even notice the difference. :) I will be buying this again. :D
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best cold drink ever!

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Customer avatar
Pennie
From: Racine, WI, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I am totally hooked on the Very Berry Refresher. What a spectacular pick me up. It's the one for me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Zoey
From: Batesville, AR, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Although I would prefer the store refresher, this is a far superior product to other powdered, add to water products I have tried. I will be sure to stock up when traveling since I do not have a Starbucks nearby.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Different but good

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Maggs
From: Tip Of Texas
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
The taste is difficult to describe but it's good. I'm always looking for new flavors and this was it! Try it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very refreshing!!

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Abekah
From: Belmont,NC
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
Would recommend this drink. Not so sweet that's why I like it very much!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick pick me up

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
JJallstar
From: Arizona
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
I like the easy to carry or Travel with individual packets.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Refreshing

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer avatar
gourmetcoffeedrinker1
From: West Coast
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
Simply add to water, make to your specifications,chill in refrigerator, and enjoy!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

not the same but pretty good

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
refresher101
From: ames, ia
Gender:female
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
The very berry hibiscus i get at starbucks will always be better because it is made fresh but these are pretty good. They lack some of that fresh ginger flavor and actually taste a little more like coolaid. I would reccomend mixing them with a venti sized cup or with 21 oz of water instead of 16 oz. It is way too sweet when mixed with 16 oz
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starbucks VIA Refreshers™ Very Berry Hibiscus
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Refreshing, Perfect summer drink

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Customer avatar
GrannyD
From: Riverside, CA, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
This is one of the best purchase I have made all summer. I received a free individual package from my local Starbucks and I was hooked immediately. The powder disolves easily with ZERO lumps or clumps. I do find that I add more water to the mix as I do not like it as strong as package directions. Adding a raspberry or a crused blueberry or two really adds a little something also. The VIA packaging makes it so easy to carry in my purse and use just about anywhere. Works oh so darned easy in a bottle of cold water! Just the ticket for these 110 degree days we've been having. Makes it much more tolerable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>