Starbucks Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Starbucks
Tumblers & Travel Mugs or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz

Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz

A ceramic travel cup with double wall construction and splash guard, for coffee on-the-go.
Overall rating:
4.228 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
58
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
4
1 Star
5
83 out of 9786%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Review 1 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great looks but not so hot.

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
BroTick
From: Graham, WA
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I thought the sliding opening was a big improvement over the flip top opening. It does not keep coffee hot for very long, not as good at keeping it hot longer than a normal cup. Used daily at work for over a month now. Adding an indentation all around the middle would aid in keeping a firmer grip on the cup, it can feel slippery compared to a plastic or metal travel mug. Hard to reach the bottom inside for cleaning. Have a nice collection of Starbucks cups but this one doesn't seem to keep it hot but I will continue to use it until something better comes along.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best lid ever - No more spills

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Customer avatar
bdweber
My girlfriend and I have been through countless travel cups and mugs, but this one is by far the best. The lip of the cup has a great "mouth feel", making it easy to sip out of. The double-wall keeps my coffee hot while preventing my hand from burning. It fits in my hand really well and holds the right amount of coffee for me. It may be too small of a cup for some of you caffeine junkies out there, but that's another story.
What gets me the most is the success of the lid. The design of this lid has prevented this clumsy klutz from spilling the delicious staining elixir all over my various garments. Every drop stays in the cup. It has survived the "speed bump" test (taking a sip while driving over something that bumps the car up), which no other coffee cup seems to be able to do.
The slider is easy to operate. I can flick it back and forth with my index finger while holding the cup, which means I can do all my coffee cup operations in one hand.
If I had any suggestions for improvement, it would be to produce this cup in different styles or add a rubber bumper to the bottom of the cup to prevent breakages.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NEW Splash guard is amazing!!

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
rcharity23
From: Seattle, WA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
I have one of every ceramic mug that starbux has released over the years and found that i hardly use them because i hate the top hat lid. this new splash guard is awesome! I went to the stor to see if i could purchse additional splash guard lids for the other three ceramic mugs i have and you only have the top hat lid for sale? could you PLEASE make the splash guard lid for sale for all our old ceramic tumblers!!
Thanks!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not durable

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
bhamrulz
From: Bellingham, WA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I have bought 3 of these cups & each one of them the inside layer separated from the outside layer... the first two I was able to take back because it happened w/ in a couple of weeks, but the third happened 3 months later.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

concept good but...

PostedSeptember 16, 2011
Customer avatar
starbucksfan
to make it in ceramic was a mistake. Since the inner cup is effectively suspended inside the outer cup it makes this cup very fragile (ceramic is fragile already). Although they have a rubber stopper on the bottom that is supposed to absorb shock and help secure the inner cup it does not do the job. The inner cup separated and broke after the cup tipped over while hand washing it in the sink...stainless steel would be a much better choice...
No, I do not recommend this product.
-9points
11of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Make the New Lid Available Separately

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
NeoKate
From: E. OR
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
I have the old version of this tumbler. I agree with other reviewers that it doesn't keep coffee hot as long as other insulated tumblers. The main thing about the old style is the lid is difficult to take off. So, I was excited to see the tumbler has been re-issued with a new, easy to remove, lid. Starbucks needs to make this lid available to buy separately. I noticed that the old style lid is available, so hopefully the new one will be.
As for slippage while holding it, I put a wide rubber band around mine. It works well for getting a steady grip. If you want to be more "stylish" you could buy a rubberized sleeve since the tumbler is about the same diameter as the paper cup.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Favorite Tumbler!

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Customer avatar
L0v3L1f3
I bought one of these tumblers about a month ago, and I love it! It's everything I wanted, and more! I love how the ceramic is still double walled, so it is *never* too hot to hold, even when my coffee has just been poured - and I *love* how easy to open and use the mug is with this lid design (plus it's super easy to clean!). I also really like the weight of the tumbler - it always feels solid and comfortable in my hands. It also feels really well-made - I use it all the time and I haven't had any issues with it, and I don't exactly treat it like fine china - so maybe the old production issues have been solved? Also, I love that the Barista can write my order directly on the cup (unlike any other tumbler I bring from home). I am seriously considering buying another one, just because I think this tumbler is so superb! I only wish it came in a larger size!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Like the new lid

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Coffeeloverone
From: Atlanta, GA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I bought mine about 2 years ago and this is by far the best cup I had. I do agree that it does not keep the coffee for as long warm as a steel version, however it keeps all the flavor in! I've had 10 different stainless steel traveler mugs in the past, and I had to put all of them aside, since I found when the coffee would sit in them for a while, it would change the flavor completely. But with the Starbucks version being ceramic, it keeps all the flavors in as when I am drinking from a real cup.
My only complaint with this is the lid, which is hard to remove. But now that I saw the new version with the new lid, I am REALLY hoping you guys would also make the lid separately available so that I don't have to buy a new tumbler.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the Ceramic (Hate the old Lid)

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
FrenchRoaster
From: Kentucky, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
I have two versions of this and love it. I can take my coffee in my car every morning and no longer need to cardboard version. But as several have mentioned the old lid was not a very good product. Please make the lid available separately. I need two.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mug~

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Starbucksaholic
Gender:male
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I have several of these mugs...Great size and easy to clean. Very pleased. Thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best traveling mug ever

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Customer avatar
javajunkie100
From: Napa
Gender:female
Age:Over 65
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
Great coffee deserves to be sipped from china but until Starbucks comes up with a china travel mug, this is the next best thing. I love this mug. Yes, it's breakable, but the benefits far outweigh the risks!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great as a mug

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Customer avatar
Rosie
From: Kansas
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:All day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I've had this mug (with the older lid) for about two months. I *always* wash it in the dishwasher, just not on the heated dry setting. FYI - most products that are not dishwasher safe are labeled as such because of heated drying.
This is my go-to mug at home. I don't know why they bothered making it double-walled; it doesn't keep the coffee any warmer than a regular cup. But having a lid on it prevents spills while I'm around the house. I love the feel of the mug, and that, being ceramic, it doesn't change the taste of the coffee. If I wanted something to keep it hot for a long time, I would go with stainless steel, but since I drink it so fast anyway, it doesn't matter!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

amazing

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Customer avatar
jack
From: ca
Gender:male
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
excellent mug.good price. i like the authentic feel of it
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love, love, love it!

PostedNovember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
butterfly
From: gainesville, fl
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A shot of espresso
I bought this cup at a local Starbucks. You get the great feel of the ceramic with the convenience of the lid. Great insulator, keeps my coffee nice and hot. Easy to clean. The only negative is that, well like all ceramic cups, it gets very hot to the touch when I first pour my coffee. But other than the obvious "caution -- its hot" moment, it's a perfect mug.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It!!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Customer avatar
michiko
From: Virginia, USA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
It's a heavier version of the cardboard cup from the store...so it feels nice and sturdy in my hand, especially when I'm driving, I don't have to worry about accidentally squeezing it and having the top and my coffee in my lap instead of in my mouth. It's also great at home. It keeps my coffee and tea plenty warm so I have no complaints in that department.
Can we get a Venti size? :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Please Sell Us The New Splash Guard Mug Lids :)

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Customer avatar
Charlie
From: Vienna, VA
Gender:male
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
I, like many people here, own the prior incarnation of this mug with its "top hat" lid. And, while the mug is terrific the lid was awful. It’s difficult to put on and remove the lid from the ceramic mug.
Worse yet, the rubber gasket fills up with coffee debris due to a gap in the lid’s hollow middle, making a thorough cleaning impossible. And what vermin grows and ferments in this tucked away tarred crevasse no mortal knows.
In cold coffee irony, SB’s website sells only the top hat and not the new and improved lid a la carte.
Starbucks customers have grown accustomed to the company's constant care and attention to its customers. And, we know you'll do the right thing by offering up separately ceramic travel mug lid 2.0.
Come on now, let’s make it happen captain!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+32points
36of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

"Size Matters"

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Customer avatar
imwired
Great mug...just wish it was available in a "Venti!"
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome. Wish it were microwave safe. Bewildered by other reviews.

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
IDontDrinkCoffee
From: Albuquerque, NM, USA
Gender:male
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Yearly
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
This mug is fantastic! Great size. Elegant design. It's hard to find double-walled ceramic mugs and this one is perfect. I do wish it was available without the logo and silly drink type check boxes on the side ... but that's not going to happen.
This mug has some serious heft to it. The picture makes it look pretty small, but it's not. Given the weight and size the smooth surface can make it a bit hard to hold. Some texture or something for grip would be nice. In a Venti size I think the weight would be too much.
Like any mug (but perhaps especially so for this one) you need pre-warm the mug with hot water in order for it to really keep your beverage warm for a long time. Otherwise, you'll lose a lot of heat to warming up a cold mug with a lot of mass. In terms of heat retention this is much better than a paper cup but nothing like a high quality vacuum sealed double-walled stainless tumbler ... probably a little better than that promotional "double-walled" tumbler you have from your work retreat in 2002. But, unlike steel or plastic, this ceramic mug doesn't change the taste of your beverage or turn your breakfast tea into toothpaste after your afternoon mint tea from the day before. It's ceramic! Go ahead and eat caviar out of this thing ... or not ... that would be silly.
Some people say it was an oversight to make this in ceramic vs. stainless: There are 3 billion double walled stainless designs. If you wanted a stainless mug why did you buy ceramic, hmmm? Ceramic is obviously less durable. Don't pick this mug as your only mug for the zombie apocalypse! Like any ceramic mug, there's pretty good chance it will break even if you just tip it over (when running from a zombie). Complaining about your ceramic mug being ceramic is like being unhappy about your new coupe not having 4 doors ... gosh, what a design flaw.
People unhappy about SB's not having this lid available for the previous iteration of this mug: This mug has a lip on the interior that allows the new lid to work without plunging your fingers into hot coffee and ruining your cashmere sweater. Old / other mugs don't have that. Therefore the lid doesn't fit ... that's why SB's doesn't sell it separately. Not just because they hate you.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+56points
57of 58voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great travel mug

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Customer avatar
anonymous
From: Guilderland, NY 12084, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
this is a great mug. the only downside is that I wish it were a little narrower....it's hard to fit into my car's cupholder.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Starbucks® Double Wall Ceramic Traveler, 12 fl oz
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

GREAT LOOKING...BUT

PostedDecember 29, 2011
Customer avatar
janfan
From: Potomac, MD, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
This mug was a gift. I was so excited to recieve it, and the accessory lid. Then, I ralized it is NOT Mictowave safe.
For me, this is a deal breaker. i'm constantlyy needing to warm my coffer, as a sipper. It does keep coffee warm lomgrt, as advertized. If this is enough gor you, then you will enjoy this one. It's not for me. Sadly going to have to exchange
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Read more reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>