Starbucks Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz

Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz

A customizable tumbler with scratch stick for unleashing your creativity.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
14 out of 2070%of Starbucks reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

small but a great gift

PostedMay 12, 2013
Customer avatar
Frenchie
From: Duluth, MN, USA
Gender:female
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Mocha with whip
This travel mug was a great gift for secretary's day. Our office staff loved them!
They were a little small but it says an 8 ounce.
Great Gift!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

love it but...

PostedApril 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Mar2013
From: Florida, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I do love this cup!!! However, Its way skinner than I thought it would be...very narrow! I expected this cup to be small because it is 8oz. But the width was not what I was expecting. A 3-yrs old child could hold it in one hand.
Also the buttom of the cup where the decoraton/design paper goes, it does leaks and mess up your beautiful design. However, the coffee does not leak, yeah!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Doesn't keep hot

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Judles
From: Illinois
Gender:female
Age:45-54
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
It doesn't keep the coffee very hot or warm. I think I will take back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent for hard workers and moderate drinkers

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Dom3
From: Washington
Gender:male
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:Monthly
Starbucks Personality:A can of Doubleshot
I don't need a big cup of coffee to start my day off at 5:30am to begin my morning run and then off to some hard core engineering classes; all I need is this 8oz tumbler to drink my coffee, which is the perfect amount to start up my alertness.
I seriously wonder why people drink starbucks every day, and the serving for "tall" is still a bit excessive. Home-brewed Koa Hawaii is the way to go, and you save $.
Anyways, back to the tumbler. I did not buy for the decoration, that's just silly. I bought it for the size and the tight closing lid. It definitely prevents spills except when shaken very very aggressively; some specs of liquid will fly out. If it is full and left on its side, nothing will spill though. The green rim you see is a rubber seal. The bottom cap also has a rubber seal but I haven't tested its resistance to water.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cute little cup! :)

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
Kate27
From: GA
Gender:female
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Hot brewed Tazo® tea
This cup is the perfect size for my morning coffee/tea. It fits in my hand perfectly and the top is easy to open. I love how you can customize the inside of the cup with pretty designs. My friend at work designed it for me and now it looks really colorful!
Don't listen to everyone complaining about the small size. I believe this cup was made for people wanting a small amount of drink or for a kids cup. If you want a bigger cup, then get the 16oz one!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gift for the teacher!

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
kaos
Great chance for my son to be creative and give something customized to his teachers for Christmas! Love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome cup

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Customer avatar
Kangs1132
From: PA
Gender:female
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
This cup is very creative. It also doesn't break because I left it in the freezer to ice my coffee. When I opened the freezer the cup crashed on the floor eith no cracks or scratches. I recommend this cup. It is also very cute ;)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Scratch tumbler

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Kristin5
From: Charleston
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
I thought that it would be a great size for easier travel, but I think that it is way too small. I would not reccomend this product for that reason.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent tumbler

PostedAugust 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Karl
I bought this as a replacement for the normal sized version of this style of plastic tumbler. It's completely the same but with the option to customize the design.
Pros:
- didn't leak either from lid or drinking hole except once when I did not screw the cap on properly before tossing it into my bag.
- hot drinks are kept hot for a decent length of time provided that your drink starts out hot enough and you keep it closed.
Cons:
- it was smaller than I thought. It might not fit all of the coffee if you fill it at coffee shops, I have not tried yet.
- there is some kind of strange pressure in this tumbler that prevents the smooth flow of liquid. When I tilt it to drink I have to anticipate the initial delay in the liquid coming out else I burn my tongue or have spillage.
I've had no problem with condensation on the design paper nor the leaking problems other reviews mentioned. As with all tumblers, pressure from hot liquids swishing around will force liquid out so if you take care not to do that then it should be fine(open the closure for the lid during travel if you must to combat this)
It's probably possible to use your own custom designed papers if you are into that kind of thing.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Highly disappointing

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
pearlie76
From: Houston, TX, USA
Gender:female
Age:35-44
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
To start off, I ordered TWO tumblers and when i received it, one was broken. Thankfully customer service was awesome. It was replaced immediately. Too bad the product is very faulty. After the first hand wash, condensation and/or water leaked inside where the customization paper is at. The only reason I wont return it is because its the only one that fits perfectly in my hand. Its the perfect size, too bad it leaks!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

just the right size!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Customer avatar
arale07
From: Atlanta, GA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:A can of Doubleshot
i had been wanting to drink less coffee in the morning, this one is just the size i need! agree with OrphanAdvocate, just tried it, and poked my nose too. i think we have to drink with our head tilted back instead of angling the cup 90 degrees. yep i had to adjust the angle of my head to avoid being poked in the nose. i don't even have a big nose...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nice size but "dear God" it leaks

PostedApril 17, 2012
Customer avatar
mcapoccia
From: Arlington, VA, USA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:A press pot of single-origin coffee
I would not recommend these cups. The size is great but they leak around the rim:-(
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Smaller than 8 oz. & need to let it warm up

PostedApril 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: Illinois
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Yearly
Starbucks Personality:Soy latte
I purchased this to replace my small 8 oz. coffee thermos from Starbucks, which is great except you can't wash inside the lid so it eventually gets gross. This mug is NOT 8 oz. as advertised, it only fits 6 oz. (I used a measuring cup.) Also, you need to first screw on the lid with the top cover open, then let it warm up for a few minutes, and then close the cover. If you don't do that, the coffee gleefully races out of the space between the cup and the lid and gets all over your stuff. Now that I have mastered this process, I decided to keep the cup, because it's so hard to find a small one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Colored paper not the best.

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Customer avatar
starbucks92
From: Scappoose
Gender:female
Age:18-24
Drinks Starbucks:Weekly
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
Bought this for my boyfriend's niece and we wrote on the paper for her. It says the paper is multi-colored, but only if you draw/write from top to bottom, not left to right. We wrote left to right and the lines are all the same color...it is the perfect size for a little kid though and is something that you can customize as a gift.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, watch out for the nose-pokie!

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
OrphanAdvocate
From: Gilroy, CA
Gender:male
Age:55-65
Drinks Starbucks:Every other day
Starbucks Personality:Brewed coffee with lots of cream and sugar
I bought one of these with a Starbucks gift card I received at Christmas. It is a small size, 8 oz., but enough for coffee in the morning. I like the size
The construction is solid! The seal is tight between the lid and the tumbler. I didn't buy it for the customizable function - I just left the black liner in without writing anything.
The flip top works well! I think it is easier to seat than the top that is on some of the other plastic tumblers.
My only dissatisfaction so far is that the flip top has a bump on it (the bump fits into a small air hole on the lid) that pokes me in the end of my nose when I drink! Maybe my nose isn't the right size for this cup... I compensate by turning the cup slightly so I drink off-center and then I don't get poked. A bit annoying but it adds a small element of satisfaction that I found a way to adjust to an otherwise great little tumbler!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

cute, but too small

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
anonymous
From: Glen Burnie, MD, USA
Gender:female
Age:25-34
Drinks Starbucks:Once a day
Starbucks Personality:Tall skinny latte
a very cute idea, well made product, much too small...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
9of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible...

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
AnnoyedGirl
From: Hawaii
Gender:female
I bought this item two days ago. An employee I talked to said it was an, "okay" product. I bought it anyways because I thought it was a cool idea to design what I wanted. Well after decorating on the paper I put some hot tea in for the first time (and last), then the middle part started steaming and the paper got too moist to take back out, and after trying to get it out with a tweezer the plastic cracked and I just gave up. My $11 is now in the trash...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+12points
21of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

She loved it

PostedApril 23, 2011
Customer avatar
JOSEPH L
From: NEW YORK, NY
Bought as gift for friend. She loved it. Uses it a lot
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect!

PostedApril 13, 2011
Customer avatar
Kristen N
From: BLOOMINGTON, IN
I had looked forever to find an 8oz mug to replace the old one my mom has. This
one was perfect and I was able to slip a family picture into the bottom so she could look
at us as she sips her coffee!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Create-Your-Own Scratch Tumbler, 8 fl oz
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedApril 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Doraetta H
From: BRANCHLAND, WV
I think the Idea for this tumbler was great!!! How ever I didn''t draw a
picture on the background provided. I wrote a note that says, Keep your hands off my
Starbucks, And put my name on it. That way I can take it to the VA hospital, I am sure to
get lots of laughs about it there. and A lot of people there will want one of their own.
Thank You
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
25of 30voted this as helpful.